Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 04/03/18

Bloody weather. As much fun as it was trying to make images from the sever weather warning maps, it has been less fun for my team of drivers up and down the country who have had to manage the disruption. A good few of them did get enforced ‘Snow days’ so I don’t imagine they’ll be complaining too much, but the clean up next week is going to be a right pig. Thankfully we had no casualties as a result of the weather so that is a very good result in my book. It’s only stationery after all …

So, messing about at work made a right horlicks of my reading for the week. I managed to listen to an audio book on my way home from Aberdeen on Monday and read three other books over the course of the week, but far from being ahead of schedule on my reading, I’m not reading just in time again. I have a lot on this weekend so can’t afford to fall any further behind. Wish me luck.

The past week was great fun in one way. As you may have seen from my previous post, Mandie and I managed against all the odds to get to Warwick for the Orenda Books Roadshow. We didn’t get to explore the town as much as we would have liked, it being coated in snow and all, but we did have a fabulous evening and I walked away with a few new signed books. Go figure! We even made it home before the heavy snow fell – well as heavy as it got around Shropshire which wasn’t very heavy at all in fairness.

IMG_5925

The rest of the weeks plans were pretty well cancelled but I am up to date with my laundry so that’s nice. This week it had better not bloody snow as we are due to head to Oswestry for an evening with Clare Mackintosh to celebrate the launch of Let Me Lie which I reviewed earlier today.

Purchase wise I bought five new (old) Orenda titles to be signed: End Game by Matt Johnson; Maria In The Moon by Louise Beech; The Old You by Louise Voss; Blue Night by Simone Buchholz and Deep Blue Trouble by Steph Broadribb.

Purchase wise snow did not stop play: 11 Missed Calls by Elisabeth Carpenter; Alive by Sharon Bolton; Do No Harm by Lucy V Hay; Dead of Night by Michael Stanley; Cold Hearts by Gunnar Staalesen; and The Lost Girl by Carol Drinkwater,

Reading wise, as I say, I finished four books. Not too bad I guess. Takes my total for the year to 42.

Books I Have Read

LGLucky Ghost – Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROR.

Early one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.

He smiles.

They’ve both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy – but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.

As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name ‘Lucky Ghost’.

But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig – the online troll who’s been harassing Alex for months.

Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek – or to their deaths?

LUCKY GHOST is part of the Martingale cycle, a series of interconnected novels exploring the life of computing pioneer and political radical Elyse Martingale – and her strange afterlife in the 21st century.

An intriguing dystopian-esque look at a world dominated by crypto-currency and virtual reality. it took a little getting my head around the story and the different characters, but once I did this was an absorbing tale of corruption and violence. Really quite thrilling. You can read my review here. You can also purchase a copy of the book here.

Call to Arms Cover LARGE EBOOKCall To Arms – Rachel Amphlett

Loyalty has a price.

Kay Hunter has survived a vicious attack at the hands of one of the country’s most evil serial killers.

Returning to work after an enforced absence to recover, she discovers she wasn’t the only victim of that investigation. DI Devon Sharp remains suspended from duties, and the team is in turmoil.

Determined to prove herself once more and clear his name, Kay undertakes to solve a cold case that links Sharp to his accuser.

But as she gets closer to the truth, she realises her enquiries could do more harm than good.

Torn between protecting her mentor and finding out the truth, the consequences of Kay’s enquiries will reach far beyond her new role…

Love this series, loved this book. Slower in pace than it’s predecessors, Kay is doing all she can to try to prevent her boss, Devon Sharp, from losing his job by solving a cold case. But, other than the man who has made allegations against Sharp, who has cause to try and stop her from finding the truth. You’ll be able to read my thoughts, and a guest post from Rachel, on publication day on Sunday. You can buy your own copy of the book here.

CHCold Heart – Stephen Edger

It has been a week since anyone last saw fifteen-year-old Daisy, after she left her best friend’s house and started her short walk home. Detective Kate Matthews and her team have been looking for her ever since.

When a tip-off leads Kate to a disused gymnasium at Daisy’s school, she is shocked to find evidence linking to the murder of a different girl. 

Working the two cases side by side, Kate’s blood runs cold when a gift-wrapped box containing a human heart is delivered to her at the station. The heart belongs to yet another unknown victim, but the message is clear: there will be more, and Daisy could be one of them. 

When activity on Daisy’s Facebook account indicates she is still alive, the race is on for Kate and her team. Will Daisy be the killer’s next victim? Is Kate prepared to risk everything to stop another innocent life from being taken?

The next book in the Kate Matthews series, this is a twisted tale featuring dismembered bodies, bloody crime scenes and a missing school girl. You will be able to read my thoughts next week as part of the blog tour. You can preorder a copy of the book here.

TLGThe Lost Girl – Carol Drinkwater

A LOVEREADING BOOK OF THE YEAR

Since her teenage daughter went missing four years ago, Kurtiz Ross has blamed and isolated herself. Until, out of the blue, Lizzie is sighted in Paris.

But within hours of her arrival, Kurtiz sees the City of Light plunged into terror.

Amid the fear and chaos, a hand reaches out. A sympathetic stranger offers to help a terrified mother find her daughter.

The other woman’s kindness – and her stories of her own love and loss in post-war Provence – shine unexpected light into the shadows.

The night may hold the answers to a mystery – but dare Kurtiz believe it could also bring a miracle?

A wonderful story of love and loss set against a backdrop of post war France and an international terrorist incident in modern day Paris. Such a compelling story I was drawn in, keen to learn more about Kurtiz Ross and Marguerite Courtenay. The book is released in paperback on 8th March. You’ll be able to read my thoughts later this week and can order a copy of the book here.

The past week may have been quiet on the work front but a little busier blog wise. You can catch up with anything you may have missed from the links below.

#BlogTour: The Pact by SE Lynes

#BlogBlitz: Found Drowned by BK Duncan 

Review: Lucky Ghost by Matthew Blakstad 

Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan

New look – His First Lie by Mark Hill

Blog Tour: Evidence of Death by Peter Ritchie

#BlogTour: A Known Evil by Aidan Conway

#BlogTour: Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell

#BlogTour: Bring Me Flowers by DK Hood

#BlogTour: The Visitor by KL Slater

Because, as you can tell, I’m cutting back 😉

The week ahead is a little less busy. In spite of the three posts today, I’m pretty relaxed for the rest of the week. Blog tours scheduled are Spring on the Little Cornish Isles by Phillipa Ashley, The Lost Girl by Carol Drinkwater; The Babysitter by Sheryl Browne; A review of Baby Lies by Chris Collett from Mandie and rounding out the week with a publication day review of Call To Arms by Rachel Amphlett.

Aside from that, I am looking forward to Wednesday and then a secret squirrel, book related venture over the weekend. More on that on another day. Maybe.

Whatever you are up to I hope you have a brilliantly bookish week.

See you soon

Jen

2 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 04/03/18

  1. Soem excellent books-cannot escape Rachel Amphlett, really need to get to her books! But what the actual with Lucky Ghost? Sounds crazy! yay to you getting to the roadshow-looks wow and wow again to Clare Mackintosh!!! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.