#BlogTour: The Visitor by KL Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be joining the blog tour for the latest release by KL Slater, The Visitor. My thanks to Kim Nash for iniviting me to join the tour and to Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on it just as soon as I’ve shown you what the book is all about.

TVAbout the Book

He’ll make sure she never wants to leave…

Holly never thought she’d move back to her home town, but then something terrible happened. She doesn’t know if she can recover. But she knows she can never tell another soul.

People say her neighbour, David, is “different”. He doesn’t go out much, and never after dark. But in David Holly finds just what she needs: a friend. Someone who’s always there.

No one knows Holly’s secret, or where she lives. She has left the past behind. She is sure of it. So why does she feel as though she’s in terrible danger?

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller, from the bestselling author of Blink and The Mistake. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Couple Next Door.

Well. What can I say about this book? If there is one thing I have come to rely upon when reading a book by KL Slater, it is that I am going to be taken on quite a journey, full of twists and surprises and edged with tension and suspense. When I started reading The Visitor I had high hopes and I was delighted to find that I was offered all of the above and more.

Now it is very hard to expand upon what is given in the blurb as I think to do so would risk spoilers. In very basic terms Holly has recently moved back to her home town, offered board and, in a way, sanctuary by Cora Barrett, a woman she meets in town when she is down on her luck and looking for a new start. Her new landlady is nice, but somewhat lonely, but to Holly she is a lifeline. It is clear from the start that Holly is hiding something and that her past has been far from a bed of roses, but as to what has brought her home and what her secret may be, you will need to read the book to find out.

Holly is an intriguing character and one who I was never quite sure what to make of. You do learn a lot about her and her story, from childhood to the time after she leaves her parents home is quite traumatic and perhaps sickening, but none of it is told in an overly gratuitous way. As an outsider looking in, it is apparent where her path is leading her, however you are powerless to stop it and often I found myself cursing Holly’s naivety. She is a character I did feel some sympathy for but perhaps only in a measured way as I was never quite sure.

Cora is the exact opposite of Holly. Where Holly is reticent, Cora is open and giving. And yet KL Slater has added a touch of uncertainty to the way in which the character is portrayed which you need to read to understand. It’s actually quite effective in creating more suspense within an already twisty story. The final character, and the third voice in the multi voice narration style, is Holly and Cora’s neighbour David. Now he is what his neighbours would, and do, describe rather cruelly as odd. A grown man still living with his mother, nothing unusual in that these days you might argue, but there is just something about him, about his obsession with what happens in the street and in particular with Holly that makes you kind of nervous when reading his story. It’s not skin crawling nervous, more a kind of … hesitation and apprehension perhaps.

The slow build of the story fits the narrative perfectly and as the tale progresses and Holly’s past is uncovered, you start to see the subtle signs which you may have missed before. There are no end of characters with seemingly hidden agendas, so much so that at times it is hard to know who, if anyone, you can truly trust, and the truth of it all may actually surprise you. All of it builds to one corker of an ending, one which highlights the author’s talent for crafting a beautifully effective story. I love her books and can’t wait for the next to be announced as each one is a revelation. Brilliant stuff.

You can purchase your own copy of The Visitor from the following links:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo

About the Author

KLSKim is the bestselling author of psychological crime thrillers ‘Safe With Me,’ ‘Blink,’ ‘Liar’, ‘The Mistake’ and ‘The Visitor.’

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents and collected a stack of rejection slips. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating in 2012, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.

She also writes award-winning YA fiction for Macmillan Children’s Books, writing as Kim Slater.

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Make sure to check out some of the other brilliant blogs who took part in the tour.

TVBTP.jpg

One thought on “#BlogTour: The Visitor by KL Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 04/03/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.