Review: The Lying Kind by Alison James @AlisonJBooks @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for The Lying Kind by Alison James, book one in the new Detective Rachel Prince series. My thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll share my thoughts with you in just a moment but first, here is what the book is all about.

tlkThe Official Book Blurb

The little girl stirred and opened her eyes. A light from the landing played a shadow across her toy cupboard. It was then she realised… There was someone else in the room. 

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper has gone missing from her bedroom on a safe, suburban street. 

Her mother says her ex-husband has stolen their daughter. Lola’s father denies it was him.

Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see a thing. But someone must know where the little girl is. Who is lying? And who is telling the truth?

Detective Rachel Prince knows the longer a child is unaccounted for, the less likely they are to be found alive. 

The clock is ticking. It’s up to Rachel to find Lola Jade, before it’s too late.
And then another little girl is taken…

Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a nail-bitingly tense crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter.

As first book in a series go, I have to say that this one is a cracker. Brought into the case some months after the initial disappearance of Lola Jade, DI Rachel Prince and her Sergeant Mark Brickall of the Antional Crime Agency have a lot of secrets to plow through. With the girl’s father missing and her mother making all manner of accusations against him, they first need to locate the missing man and to ascertain how much of the evidence gather so far is of use and how much a red herring.

From the very off you can sense there is something a little off about this case. The prologue is ominous, the jeopardy for the young girl immediately apparent and yet the story which follows makes little sense. And so, as a reader, we partner with Rachel as she takes her investigation to Spain and Portugal and to the Surrey home of the missing girl. Thankfully Rachel, and even the slightly more prickly and procedure averse Brickall, are really great characters and I was more than happy to spedn time in their company. Brickall is a bit of an idiiot, making a serious error in judgment which could prove catastrophic for his career, but he is also really likeable and the camaraderie between the two makes for some great reading.

Now the story has echoes of a real life case, maybe more than one, but there is one in particular which was highly publicised and quite a big scandal to boot. Nothing about the principal characters in this story quite adds up, strange anomalies  in statements and an internet troll who claims to know more than the rest of the world about Lola Jade’s disapperance. But when another child goes missing, everything that you think you know so far will get thrown up in the air and coming craching back down at your feet.

The dynamic in this book, the links of the National Crime Agency to Interpol and the international nature of the investigations is an intersting twist on your standard police procedural and I lok forward to seeing how this is developed in future books. It certainly has a lot of potential and after a start like this I am excited and hungry to read more. Not always the fastest paced book, we are coming to the investigation three months down the line after all, the sense of tension is always there as well as the little seedlings of doubt. A great start to the series.

Thanks to publishers Bookouture for providing an advance copy of the book for review. It is available from the following retailers:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo

About the Author

AJ

I was born in the Cotswolds but spent most of my formative years abroad. I studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after my two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, I worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.

Make sure to check out some of the other great blogs taking part in the tour.

TLKBT

5 thoughts on “Review: The Lying Kind by Alison James @AlisonJBooks @Bookouture

  1. Christine

    Well done review, Jen. BTW, I quit getting my email notifications of your posts about 10 days ago. Got to this via the old-fashioned way (google). Anyone else complaining about this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Not aware of anyone having problems with notifications. I haven’t changed any settings so not sure. Might be a random WordPress thing. I have all my own email notifications switched off so only get one mail per week. Very odd

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 11/02/18 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.