Review: Lucky Ghost by Matthew Blakstad @mattblak @1stMondayCrime @HodderBooks

Okay so this review is either going to be very long or very short. Neither in a bad way, at least not from a book enjoyment point of view anyway. More from a totally absorbing and entertaining cyber-geekery perspective which means that I’m in way over my head here if I have a hope of sounding intelligent or articulate.

Some might argue situation normal then …

Let’s take a look at a the bookish stuff first huh? Continue reading “Review: Lucky Ghost by Matthew Blakstad @mattblak @1stMondayCrime @HodderBooks”

#BlogBlitz: Found Drowned by BK Duncan @BKDuncanWriter @Bloodhoundbook

Today I am delighted to be joining the blog tour for BK Duncan’s latest May Keaps novel, Found Drowned. My thanks to Sarah Hardy of Bloodhound books for inviting me to be a part of the blitz and to the publisher for providing an advance copy of the book for review. Let’s take a look at what it’s all about.

FDAbout the Book

Are you looking for an unmissable historical mystery? Then you’ll love BK Duncan’s Found Drowned.

Smuggling. Prostitution. Murder.

London. 1920 and coroner’s officer May Keaps is tasked with solving the mystery that surrounds the death of a young boy, found drowned in The Thames.

But was it murder or an accident?

May knows that when children go missing, the reason is often linked to money but she is in danger of underestimating the corrupting influence of power . . .

On streets where poverty and exploitation walk hand-in-hand everyone has a price. And some are more valuable dead than alive. But who is pulling the strings?

May must journey into the dark underbelly of London to find the answers.

Continue reading “#BlogBlitz: Found Drowned by BK Duncan @BKDuncanWriter @Bloodhoundbook”

#BlogTour: The Pact by SE Lynes @SELynesAuthor @Bookouture

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for The Pact by SE Lynes alongside fellow bloggers The Writing Garnet and damppebbles. My thanks to Kim Nash of Bookouture for inviting me to take part in the tour and to Bookouture for providing an advance copy for review. Let’s take a look at what the book is all about.

TPAbout the Book

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your daughter.

The Daughter 
15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, and how she got there, but she can’t speak the words out loud. 

The Mother
Rosie’s mother Toni has a secret. She had a traumatic childhood, and she and her sister Bridget made each other a promise thirty years ago: that they could never speak the truth about what they went through as children, and that they would protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what…

Rosie was Toni’s second chance to get things right: a happy, talented girl with her whole life ahead of her. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. 

But Rosie has plans that her mother doesn’t know about. She has dreams and ambitions – of love, of a career, of a life beyond the sheltered existence that her mother has created for her. But the secrets Rosie has been keeping have now put her life in danger. 

The Pact
In order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever. 

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Apple Tree Yard and The Sister.

Continue reading “#BlogTour: The Pact by SE Lynes @SELynesAuthor @Bookouture”

Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 25/02/18

IMG_5818.JPG

So this is the blog post that isn’t meant to happen but I had a couple of hours in between events so here we are. What a week this has been, what a rare mood I’m in. Why it’s almost like being … contented I think is the word. After an all to brief round trip to Dublin on Monday to deliver a bit of training, I have finished off my week up in Dundee and Aberdeen combining necessary annual work trips with a touch of blogger heaven a.k.a. Granite Noir. Continue reading “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 25/02/18”

Review: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer @KelRimmerWrites @headlinepg

Today I am delighted to be sharing my review of Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer. I’m a big fan of Kelly’s earlier novels, her last book A Mother’s Confession even reducing me to tears on a plane. In view of everyone. I’m certain the flight attendant thought I was on something. When given the opportunity to read this one early, I jumped at it and I wasn’t disappointed.

bilygAbout The Book

A mother. A baby. And an impossible choice…

A moving page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose? Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes will love Kelly Rimmer.

As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leatherbound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears…

As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict – a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie’s newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?

Continue reading “Review: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer @KelRimmerWrites @headlinepg”