Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 21/01/18

cold-1947995_640

Well .. my feeling grumpy and miserable and a little under the weather when I wrote my post last Sunday evening developed into full blown cold/flu symptoms by Monday morning. All over aches, a fever by Monday night and a lovely annoying, keep me up all night cough from Tuesday onwards. Needless to say it did not make me feel any less grumpy. I battled through at work all week but it has had a knock on impact on reading as I had only finished one book by Friday. One! It was a good one though …

Because of the cold and my general crappiness, I have really done nothing all week. I picked up one book from Netgalley – Come a Little Closer, the upcoming release from Rachel Abbott, and nothing much book post wise either. Lovely early delivery from Waterstones with my copy of The Gathering Dark by James Oswald arriving a whole five days before publication day but nowt else. Aside from that I may have preordered a few titles, as you do. The Choice by Jake Cross; The Last Thing I Saw by Alex Sinclair; Big Sister by Gunnar Staalesen; Absolution by Paul E Hardisty; The Ice Swimmer by Kjell Ola Dahl; We Were The Salt Of The Sea by Roxanne Bouchard; and Ten Year Stretch by Various authors.

See. Proof I was ill … Still am. I read a book this past weekend which nearly suffocated me. Thank god I had tissues …

Books I Have Read

TL

The Legacy – Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.

The murder was meant as a punishment – but what sin could justify the method?

The only person who might have answers is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking.

Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children’s House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe.

It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story – but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Wow. This book makes you look at household objects in a whole new light. A little gruesome with a very dark undertone, I actually loved it and can’t wait to read more in the series. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book as part of the blog tour for the paperback release at the end of the month but you can purchase your own copy here.

LLLittle Liar – Clare Boyd

The perfect family… or the perfect lie?

To the outside world, Gemma Bradley has it all – a doting husband, high-flying career and two delightful kids – but inside the four walls of her tastefully renovated home, she is a mother at her wits’ end who has given too many last warnings and counted to ten too many times.

When a child’s scream pierces the night, Gemma’s neighbour does what anyone would do: she calls the police. She wants to make sure that Rosie, the little girl next door, is safe.

Gemma knows she hasn’t done anything wrong, but the more she fights to defend the family she loves, the more her flawless life begins to crumble around her. Is the carefully guarded secret she’s been keeping suddenly in danger of breaking free? 

When Rosie disappears, Gemma thinks she only has herself to blame. That is, until she discovers that Rosie has been keeping dark secrets of her own in a pink plastic diary.  

Distraught and terrified, Gemma doesn’t know where to turn. The only thing she knows is that her daughter’s life is in danger…

Little Liar is a heart-in-your-mouth psychological thriller about the people we choose to trust and the secrets we keep behind closed doors. If you loved The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl or anything by B.A. Paris you’ll be totally and utterly gripped. 

Gah. So many things in this book made my blood boil but you’ll have to wait a little longer to find out why. Making quite a compelling case for living in a very remote house in the county this examines the damage that suspicions can do when back up by one big ‘little’ lie. You can pre-order a copy of the book here.

WOTSWe Own The Sky – Luke Allnutt

A story about love, loss and finding hope-against all odds.

Rob Coates can’t believe his luck. There is Anna, his incredible wife, and most precious of all, Jack, their son, who makes every day an extraordinary adventure. Rob feels like he’s won the lottery of life. Or rather-he did. Until the day it all changes when Anna becomes convinced there is something wrong with Jack.

Now Rob sleepwalks through his days, unable to bridge the gulf that separates him from his wife, his son and the business of living. But he’s determined to come to terms with what’s happened-and find a way back to life, and forgiveness.

We Own the Sky will resonate with anyone who has ever suffered loss or experienced great love. Luke Allnutt shows that the journey from hope to despair and back is never as simple as we think, and that even the most thoroughly broken heart can learn to beat again.

Oh my life. This is it. The book that nearly killed me. Breathing has been hard enough but when you are also crying buckets. Such a moving and emotive tale of two parents struggling to cope with a tragic diagnosis for their beloved son Jack, this book will break your heart. Stunning book. You can purchase a copy here. My review will be up in early Feb as part of the tour. As long as I’ve recovered enough emotionally to write it.

ARAssassins Retribution – Rachel Amphlett

Who spies on the spies?

The net is closing in on Eva and her team, now on the warpath and seeking revenge.

Old alliances are tested, new enemies are exposed, and somehow Eva has to stop a madman unleashing a weapon of terrifying consequences upon an unsuspecting population.

The clock is ticking…

The English Spy Mysteries is a new concept by acclaimed crime thriller author, Rachel Amphlett. Combining fast-paced thrilling reads with episodic delivery in the vein of TV shows 24, Alias, and Spooks, series 1 is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum, Vince Flynn, and James Patterson.

The final part of the series, full of action, intrigue, double crossing and tension. Pretty tidy all round really. My review will be out tomorrow, the book can be purchase here.

So that’s it. In spite of feeling grumpy and ill, I managed a full week of posts this past week. Glad I’m cutting back 😉

#BlogTour: An Act of Silence by Colette McBeth

BlogTour: The Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert

Review: Assassins Vengeance by Rachel Amphlett

#BlogTour: Vanishing Girls by Lisa Regan

#BlogTour: The Feed by Nick Clark Windo

#BlogTour: The Cover Up by Marnie Riches

#BlogTour: The Innocent Wife by Amy Lloyd

The week ahead is a little slower with only one blog tour and a few reviews. Join me on Thursday when I’ll be sharing my thoughts on Lucy Dawson’s The Daughter. I’ll also have a couple of cover reveals later on today.

The Daughter - Blog Tour

Bit of a fun evening planned on Wednesday, but more on that next week. Hopefully by then I’ll have stopped coughing quite so much.

Have a great week all

Jen

6 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 21/01/18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s