Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 07/01/18

girl-1064659_640

Me this week navigating my first week back at work after the holiday … Actually – that’s a lie. I have far more grey hair and despite everything that should be true, this past week wasn’t actually that bad. I think it is perhaps because I have decided to adopt a positive outlook this year. For example, having successfully completed the first four days at work of 2018, and taking into account annual leave and Bank Holidays/weekends, I now only have 45 weeks or 219 working days left this year …

Any how … moving on. Funny old week this week. Work was not bad, got some reading done, even managed to stick to my diet and as of this morning (Sunday as I write this) have lost 4lbs in week one so I’ll take that. Only another 500 to go … Went for an 8 mile walk with my sister on Saturday and a lovely, if somewhat chilly, 4 mile walk with Abbie Osborne on Sunday as well as managing four lots of exercise on my old trusty exercise bike so I’d call that a result. And my legs haven’t fallen off so that’s even better. I’ve booked a hotel for March, planned my Granite Noir attendance (sort of) and paid up for Harrogate in the summer, so yeah. This week has been pretty tidy.

The only reason I say tidy (as I realise that all of the above is a reason to be very happy and content with life) is because I had the misfortune of seeing a friend hurt by someone else’s unthinking actions at the end of the week. I am in two minds whether or not to expand upon my feelings on the subject, but there is every chace I will. Let us just say that it is a topic which has been much discussed (and lamented) by bloggers and authors alike, and one on which I fear some will always disagree. I am all for freedom of speech and expression, and for people tp post as they wish on their own web space, but when this is done in such a way as to become or appear personal or offensive then that, in the context of blogging and/or social media in general, is just trolling and it is not now, nor will it ever be, okay.

Anyway … moving on before I get myself angry again. Did I mention I was having a pretty tidy week? Well, I know I had Monday off, so it’s a bit of a cheat, but I’ve actually managed to read 4.5 books this week. And they’ve been pretty bloody good ones too.  I also treated myself to a weekend off from blogging. It felt really weird, and I have no doubt I will be looking at and lamenting the gaps in by schedule over the coming weeks, but it is needed. Last year was intense. This year … this year will be super tidy, no matter what does or doesn’t happen because I have decreed it to be so.

So, book post wise … None. Nada. Nothing. Nobody loves me anymore. Probably don’t love me any less either but what can you do? I did miss one book which I received the previous week between Christmas and New Year, an arc of A Known Evil by Aidan Conway. Netgalley –  well I tried to be good but in my defence, the book I was approved for was one I requested before Christmas so it barely counts … Hangman the follow up to Ragdoll by Daniel Cole.

Purchase wise, again I’ve been very good (ish). Preorders on the following books: In The Blood by Nick Hollin; The Next Girl by Carla Kovach; Tell Him He’s Dead and Girl On Fire by Tony Parsons; and Assassins Vengeance by Rachel Amphlett. See. Told you I’d been good. Five books and two are only novellas so only really count as one…

I think I am turning a corner … and the new corridor is also full of books 😀

Books I have read

VGVanishing Girls by Lisa Regan

When Isabelle Coleman, a blonde, beautiful young girl goes missing, everyone from the small town of Denton joins the search. They can find no trace of the town’s darling, but Detective Josie Quinn finds another girl they didn’t even know was missing.

Mute and unresponsive, it’s clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Josie can get from her is the name of a third girl and a flash of a neon tongue piercing that matches Isabelle’s.

The race is on to find Isabelle alive, and Josie fears there may be other girls in terrible danger. When the trail leads her to a cold case labelled a hoax by authorities, Josie begins to wonder is there anyone left she can trust?

Someone in this close-knit town is committing unspeakable crimes. Can Josie catch the killer before another victim loses their life?

Well this is certainly quite the book. Drew me in from the start and I was through it in less than a day. Our hero is quite the gal. Uncoventional and on suspension, she is truly up against it with forces far beyond her comprehension. This looks set to be a cracking series. I’ll be reviewing soon for the blog tour. You can order a copy here.

TCUThe Cover Up by Marnie Riches

Watch your back. Everyone else will be.

How far would you go to protect your empire?

Manchester’s criminal underworld is reeling from the loss of its leader, Paddy O’Brien. In the wake of her husband’s death, Sheila O’Brien takes charge of the city, and for once, she’s doing things her way.

But she hasn’t reckoned with the fearsome Nigel Bancroft, a threat from Birmingham who is determined to conquer Manchester next.

As a power tussle begins, Sheila is determined to keep control of the empire she has won – even if it means she has to die trying…

A heart-stopping read with a gritty edge, perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

Oh I really did enjoy Born Bad and so I couldn’t wait to tuck into The Cover Up to see how far Sheila had gotten in taking over from her husband Paddy O’Brien as the Queen of South Manchester. I must admit, I kind of liked Conky and developed a soft spot for old Youssef too. I’ll be sharing my thoughts soon on the blog tour but you can preorder a copy here.

TDThe Daughter by Lucy Dawson

‘Gripped me and didn’t let go until the wickedly twisted ending.’ Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You. A heartbreaking and unputdownable psychological thriller perfect for fans of Linda Green, K.L. Slater and Teresa Driscoll.

You lost your daughter. You will never forgive yourself. Now someone’s determined to make you pay… Seventeen years ago, something happened to Jess’s daughter Beth. The memory of it still makes her blood run cold. Jess has tried everything to make peace with that day, and the part she played in what happened. It was only a brief moment of desire… but she’ll pay for it with a lifetime of guilt.

To distance herself from the mistakes of the past, Jess has moved away and started over with her family. But when terrifying things begin happening in her new home, Jess knows that her past has finally caught up with her. Somebody feels Jess hasn’t paid enough, and is determined to make her suffer for the secrets she’s kept all these years.

Oh my. The opening to this book … Totally emotive and you can feel the tears welling … And then the intrigue begins to bite. A really great thriller that can also chill. There is a threat present, that much is clear, but just where is it coming from. You can find out by ordering your own copy here.

AHAssassins Hunted by Rachel Amphlett

Mother. Widow. Spy.

Eva Delacourt has been in hiding for three years after her fiancée was assassinated in cold blood outside the British embassy in Prague.

She thought she was safe.

But someone in the mysterious Section has betrayed her, and now she’s on the run for her life, sworn to protect the six-year-old boy she adores.

Her enemies are closing in, and the odds are not in Eva’s favour. For Eva, the nightmare is just beginning…

Assassins Hunted is the first part in an ongoing story involving Eva Delacourt. The story will be continued in book 2 of the English Spy Mysteries, Assassins Vengeance.

Aww.. what a cracking start to this series. Episodic in style this ends on a massive cliffhanger and I cannot wait until next Sunday to see what comes next. My review will be out tomorrow, you can order your own copy to see what I mean right here.

That was it. Book five isn’t quite read yet so I’ll let you know about that one next week, assuming you come back that is. Not quite a full week on the blog as I had the weekend off, but still managed half a dozen posts so not too shabby.

Rewind, recap: A look back at 2017

Rewind, recap: Part two – The Preorder Chronicles …

#BlogTour: Games With The Dead by James Nally @JimNally @AvonBooksUK

#BookLove: Yvonne Bastian @yvonnmbee

#BlogTour: #Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks

Blog Tour: On The Bright Side – Hendrik Groen

The week ahead holds a mixture or posts and none posts 🙂 Actually I have a few blog tour reviews out this week, starting with CJ Tudor’s stunning debut, The Chalk Man, on Wednesday, A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis and Keep Her Safe by Richard Parker on Thursday and Deep Blue Trouble by Steph Broadribb on Sunday. Do hope you can join me.

Have a fabulous week of reading all.

See you soon

Jen

5 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 07/01/18

  1. Vicki_cosybooks

    You’ve made a better start to the New Year health kick than me. I should just eat all the Christmas rubbish that’s left in one go and be done with it 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.