The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 23

advent-calendar-2900406_1280

#Bookvent – Celebrating my top reads of 2017 

My twenty third #bookvent selection is the second book from an author whose debut novel made quite a splash last year. Darker in tone than its predecessor, this still captured the wonderful small town American vibe perfectly and created some truly memorable characters. I loved the style of the writing and the way the camaraderie is portrayed between the stories younger generation. Billed by Sarah Hilary as a writer to look out for, I can’t disagree, giving this book one of my (moderately prestigious at least if you are featured on my blog) red hot reads badges. My day twenty three #bookvent pick is …

gift-1760899_640

All The Wicked Girls

by Chris Whitaker

 

ATWG

For fans of Lisa Jewell, Holly Seddon and Local Girl Missing, All the Wicked Girls is a gripping thriller with a huge heart from an exceptional talent.

Everyone loves Summer Ryan. A model student and musical prodigy, she’s a ray of light in the struggling small town of Grace – especially compared to her troubled sister, Raine. Then Summer vanishes.

Raine throws herself into the investigation, aided by a most unlikely ally, but the closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous her search becomes.

And perhaps there was always more to Summer than met the eye . . .

You may or may not remember but Chris Whitaker’s debut novel Tall Oaks was my runaway top read of 2016. I loved it. The humour blended with the tragedy that made up such a compelling story, backed up by such memorable characters, most notably Manny. Much of that same magic is recreated in All The Wicked Girls although the tone of the book is much, much darker. Centred around the disappearance of a young girl called Summer, it is clear that there is something very wrong in the town of Grace. While the story itself is quite oppressive, the very nature of the town’s inhabitants make them suspect and the tension is very high, Chris Whitaker has mirrored the tragedy in the atmosphere, as the town becomes the centre of a fierce storm. The result is electric and the story as moving as it is shocking. Some very sinister and yet overwhelmingly relevant subjects are addressed in a way which is both entertaining and admonishing. And as for the characters, you have to admire Raine’s determination in trying to find her sister, but it is the pairing of Noah and Purv that makes for some light relief in this twisted tale of small town secrets. The near concluding scenes perhaps provide a more shocking and heart-breaking moment than even Summer’s story can evoke. Loved it.

If you wish to you can read my full review of All The Wicked Girls right here and purchase a copy of the book from the following links:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo | Waterstones

gift-1760899_640

Happy #bookvent reading all

JL

5 thoughts on “The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 23

  1. I still have to read Tall Oaks. This one had me confused for quite a while. At first, when I was reading it, I didn’t think I liked it although I loved the writing style. Like you say, very dark story and I had a really hard time getting into it. But days later, I found I was still thinking about it and I changed my rating on Goodreads appropriately. I can totally see why so many picked it as their top book this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The #Bookvent Calendar 2017 – The Full Countdown – Jen Med's Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Part two – The Preorder Chronicles … – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s