Rewind, Recap: Weekly Update w/e 17/12/17

snowflakes-1236247_640

The above picture pretty much sums up the start of this week. Snow, snow and more snow. In fact as of this morning, it still hadn’t all melted, such has been the pattern of snow and freezing temperatures all week. So freezing cold in fact that this sums up what happened Tuesday …

snow-2412924_640

It dropped so cold that my freezer thought it didn’t need to chill my food anymore. Great for my electricity bill, less so for my grocery bill … Never mind. I needed a good clear out anyway.

Back onto more bookish matters, I received just the one parcel this week. Not sure if this was planned or because the Postman couldn’t get through but I am more than happy with the one I got. With massive thanks to Michael Joseph Books I am now the proud owner of an advance copy of The Darkness, part of the new series by Ragnar Jonasson. I am more than a little happy at this. I have had the book on order since January and also have the second on order which isn’t even out until 2019 … I like to be prepared.

The Darkness

Netgalley wise it’s fair to say I’ve had a nuts week, but in my defence every single one of them is for a blog tour so totally forgivable … Right? I picked up Richard Parker’s Keep Her Safe; Lucy Dawson’s The Daughter; Anna-Lou Weatherley’s Last Cry; Lisa Reagan’s Vanishing Girls and Jane Lambert’s The Start of Something Wonderful.

Purchase wise I’ve been semi restrained. Sort of. Only five books for me from Amazon – all preorders … James Nally’s Games With The Dead; Casey Kelleher’s The BrokenSheryl Browne’s The Babysitter and Stephen Edger’s Cold Heart and James Oswald’s No Time To Cry (super excited for that one). May have also bagged a few from Goldsboro Books on pre-order: John Connolly’s The Woman In The Woods; Sarah Hilary’s Come and Find Me; Hendrik Groen’s On The Bright Side and Fiona Cummins’ The Collector.

I need professional help. And some new bookcases.

Books I have read

TPNThe Perfect Neighbours by Rachel Sargeant

The perfect neighbours tell the perfect lies…

A dark and twisty psychological thriller from a rising star in the genre, perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR. When Helen moves into an exciting new neighbourhood, she finds herself in a web of evil with no escape.

Behind the shutters lies a devastating secret…

When Helen moves abroad with her loving husband Gary, she can’t wait to meet her fellow expat teachers from the local International School. But her new start is about to become her worst nightmare…

As soon as the charming family across the way welcome Helen into their home, she begins to suspect that all is not as it seems. Then Gary starts to behave strangely and a child goes missing, vanished without a trace.

When violence and tragedy strike, cracks appear in the community, and Helen realises her perfect neighbours are capable of almost anything…

A twisted tale of murder and manipulation, this tale follows Helen as she starts a new life with her husband Gary in Germany. But what should be a perfect new beginning soon takes an unexpectedly dark turn which Helen is powerless to stop. I really enjoyed this debut and look forward to reading more by the author in the future. You can read my review here and purchase a copy of the book here.

HHydra by Matt Wesolowski

Before Scarfell Claw, there was Hydra… One cold November night in 2014, in a small town in the north west of England, 26-year-old Arla Macleod bludgeoned her mother, father and younger sister to death with a hammer, in an unprovoked attack known as the ‘Macleod Massacre’.

Now incarcerated at a medium-security mental-health institution, Arla will speak to no one but Scott King, an investigative journalist, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation. King finds himself immersed in an increasingly complex case, interviewing five witnesses and Arla herself, as he questions whether Arla’s responsibility for the massacre was a diminished as her legal team made out.

As he unpicks the stories, he finds himself thrust into a world of deadly forbidden ‘games’, online trolls, and the mysterious Black-eyed Children, whose presence extends far beyond the delusions of a murderess…

Dark, chilling and gripping, Hydra is both a classic murder mystery and an up-to-the-minute, startling thriller, that shines light in places you may never, ever want to see again.

Oh my life – this book. If you enjoyed Six Stories then it is quite possible this one was even better. It certainly was for me. Less who but why, this feels darker in tone, a Ring-esque vibe to it which I adored. Bravo Mr Wesolowski. My review will be published in a couple of weeks as part fo the tour, but if you can;t wait that long to find out about the book, it’s out on 24th December in ebook and can be ordered here.

GWTD.jpgGames With The Dead by James Nally

Irish runaway. Insomniac. Functioning alcoholic.
Life is about to get complicated for DC Donal Lynch.

When a young woman is kidnapped, Donal is brought in to deliver the ransom money. But the tightly-planned drop off goes wrong, Julie Draper is discovered dead, and Donal finds his job on the line – a scapegoat for the officers in charge.

But when Donal is delivered a cryptic message in the night, he learns that Julie was killed long before the botched rescue mission. As he digs further into the murder in a bid to clear his own name, dark revelations make one thing certain: the police are chasing the wrong man, and the killer has far more blood on his hands than they could even imagine.

A gripping, brutal and addictive thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.

I really enjoyed the predecessor to this book so I was keen to see what poor put upon Donal Lynch had been up to this time. His relationship is strained, his brother is as gung-ho about journalistic ethics as ever and Donal is about to be stitched up like a ‘kipper’ over a doomed to failure ransom drop. All in a day’s work for the Detective who can communicate with the dead. Loved this and am thrilled to be part of the tour in a couple of weeks where I’ll share my thoughts. In the meantime, order your own copy here.

That was it reading wise. Again, not my best week but with a trip to Dublin in the mix and a lovely side trip this weekend to catch up with the fabulous Abbie Osborne, I’ll take it. For a recap of all that has happened on the blog this week, take a look below.

#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 11

#Blogtour: Foul Trade by BK Duncan

#Blogtour: Follow The Snowflakes by Angelina Kerner

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 12

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 13

Review: A Game Of Ghosts by John Connolly

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 14

Review: Christmas At Carol’s by Julia Roberts

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 15

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 16

#BlogTour: The Perfect Neighbours by Rachel Sargeant

The #Bookvent Calendar 2017: Day 17

This officially means that blog has seen its last full on week of the year – from here on it is #bookvent and reading roundups all the way and I make no apologies for it. Gives me time to catch up on my reading and also gives me a well earned break.

By next Tuesday I will have posted at least once every single day for an entire year. 365 days of my inane ramblings in one form or another. If that hasn’t earned me a few days off, I don’t know what has.

Have a brilliant week all. I won’t ‘see’ you next week as it is Christmas but I’ll catch you all again in the New Year. Have a fabulous festive season and for those partaking, a brilliant Jólabókaflóðið (that’s book flood to thee and me apparently 😉 )

Jen

 

2 thoughts on “Rewind, Recap: Weekly Update w/e 17/12/17

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s