#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

I am absolutely delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Carol Wyer’s latest Robyn Carter thriller, The Silent Children. I have very much fallen in love with this series, especially the local setting, and couldn’t wait to read this latest offering. So, just what did I think? Well I’ll tell you in moment, after we’ve seen what the book is all about.

TSCAbout this Book

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this…

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. 

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

From the very moment I start to read one of the Robyn Carter books, I am sucked straight in. There is literally no point in trying to resist. I simply have to resign myself to the fact that I am invariably going to end up with square and very tired eyes because once I start reading I cannot stop. after the bombshell ending of the previous book, I was so excited to read The Silent Children. I had high hopes. Great expectations as it were.

Did the book live up to them? Oh so very yes and a whole lot more. I love these books. Love the local setting (Stafford is quite literally only 14 miles from my front door to the town centre), love the characters and I love the nail biting plots which Carol Wyer comes up with. She has me captive every dang time. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I loved the intricacies of the plot in this one, a story so twisted, murders so cold, that you have to wonder just who could be this callous and why. I have to admit, I was kind of worried to begin with. The story starts with a family visiting Cannock Chase to complete the Gruffalo trail, and I have to be honest, with the title of the book my nerves were on edge, my mind on full alert. She couldn’t possibly go there … could she? Well … if you want to know you’ll have to read for yourself but what happens is quite shocking really and leads Robyn and her team to a case which has so many layers, built on so many secrets and lies, that you have to wonder if there is any way for the team to ever find the truth.

The story itself is told in two separate threads, that of the main investigation and also of a young boy who is growing up in an abusive household. That boys story is quite shocking and the emotions Carol Wyer is able to evoke, so strong that I really felt for him. It is not immediately clear who he is, or how he will come to inform the story, and believe me when I say that it could be one of several characters, the true identity cleverly concealed until the end of the book. The motives for the murders? Well, one of the classics to be fair, but again, not one you would guess. Not by a long chalk.

I love the way in which the author has developed the characters throughout the series. Aside from the fact that Robyn is a brilliant lead character, independant, determined but ultimately human, each one of Robyn’s team has a unique personality which adds to the story and which you see developing with each new book. Surprisingly, you see more of Tom Shearer throughout the story. Although not directly involved in the investigation, he is forced to share office space with Robyn and always seems to be there. Much like Robyn, you never really get to understand the motives behind his actions … well, at least not straight off the bat. We don’t see as much of cousin Ross in this story but he is on his own mission, one which seems set to continue at least into the next book. But I do like the way in which PC Anna Shamash is growing as a character. She has real guts and a great instinct. She’s hard, if somewhat impetuous, something which could see her in quite a bit of trouble this time around.

And as for that last cliffhanger from The Missing Children … If you haven’t yet read that book I suggest that you read it first for elements of this story, particularly Robyn’s preoccupation, to make sense. Hell, you should read them all in order just because they are absolutely fabulous and you’re doing yourselves a disservice if you don’t. Does the cliffhanger get resolved? Maybe, maybe not. Not for me to say. That’s for you to read and find out.

Go on. You know you want to and you will not be disappointed. Totally top banana kind of read. I loved it. Where’s the next one?

My thanks to Bookouture for providing an advance copy of The Silent Children for review. It is available to purchase now from the following retailers.

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo

About the Author


Carol E. Wyer is an award-winning author whose humorous books take a light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully. More recently she has chosen to write for the “dark side” and embarked on a series of thrillers, starting with the gripping best-seller, Little Girl Lost.
Her book Grumpy Old Menopause won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ‘Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’ and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines ‘Woman’s Weekly’ featured in ‘Take A Break’, ‘Choice’, ‘Yours’ and ‘Woman’s Own’ magazines and writes regularly for The Huffington Post.

Carol is a signed author with Bookouture and Delancey Press.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter.

Carol blogs at www.facing50withhumour.com and www.grumpyoldmenopause.com

Check out some of the other amazing blogs taking part in the tour.


4 thoughts on “#BlogTour: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @Bookouture

  1. Pingback: The Silent Children by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture #blogtour | Novel Deelights

  2. Pingback: Rewind, Recap: Weekly Update w/e 17/12/17 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.