#BlogBlitz: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining in the blog blitz for Now You See Me, the debut thriller from Kierney Scott and Bookouture. My thanks to Noelle Holten at Bookouture for inviting me to join the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book with you just as soon as we’ve seen what it’s all about.

NYSMThe Official Book Blurb

Murky water sloshed through the gaps in the jetty’s algae-covered planks. Electricity ran down her spine. The victim’s torso was missing circles of flesh. Jess had seen marks like this before a long time ago. But that killer is already dead, isn’t he?

When the lifeless body of a young woman is found washed up in the blisteringly hot back waters of a small town, Detective Jess Bishop knows for certain this isn’t the murderer’s first kill.

Two other bodies have been found, both bearing the same marks. Marks that strike fear into Jess’s heart. They are identical to those from a case she’s spent her entire career trying to forget.

As Jess and her team try to link the victims, another body is discovered, and they fear the serial killer is taunting them. They know it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

As the body count rises, and the hunt goes cold, Jess knows she has to confront her past in order to catch the killer, even if that means making herself the bait…

Now You See Me is a gripping and heart-stopping thriller full of twists and perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Gardner.

Now this is a book which will get your attention. Someone is targeting lone women, luring them into a trap and then murdering them, leaving all the hallmarks of a case which is very personal for one of the Agents working the case. FBI Agent Jess Bishop has a somewhat checkered past, not of her making, but something which has affected her whole life. As she begins to recognise echoes of her past in some of the key evidence from her current case she faces the dilemma of being honest with her boss and risk being pulled from the case, or continue to investigate and hopefully bag a dangerous killer before they claim too many more victims.

I really liked the character of Jess Bishop. She’s someone it takes a short while to warm to as she can be spiky, controlled and quite serious, but the more the story develops, the more you get to know her and the easier she is to like. I think once the whole history of her character is revealed you begin to understand her better and her choices make greater sense as a result. One of her key flaws, potentially fatal, is a lack of trust. This could cost her dearly and as the potential to also harm those around her as she struggles to open up to those who care.

Speaking of which, the return of her former partner, Jamison Briggs, is one of the elements of conflict which will see Bishop well and truly distracted. There is a clear chemistry between the two but Briggs isn’t quite the man he was when he left, and the secret he is keeping from Bishop has the ability to complete throw her from her investigation. It certainly puts the cat amongst the pigeons as far as their partnership goes. I like Briggs. He is the polar opposite of Bishop, quick to point out her errors and pull her up on bad decisions but also backing her one-hundred percent. They have a clear chemistry but the road for them is not clear and I’ll be intrigued to see how the author develops this relationship in future books. It could be fun.

The story itself is really quite compelling and the killer’s motivations are somewhat twisted, as you would expect from someone who is murdering women. I did have to suspend disbelief a little in imagining that Bishop was the only person to spot the similarities in the case and the case from her past, as it was clear that others, her boss especially, were aware of what had happened. I did guess the how pretty early on, there are some less than subtle hints dotted throughout, but the identity of the killer, and of their final victims, did come as a surprise though. While the manner of death is not described in any real level of gory detail, the manners of the murders is quite gruesome, as are the souvenir’s or rather trophies that the killer keeps.

This was a great start to the series, the pacing fast enough to keep me turning page after page and itching to know what Bishop’s big secret was and how they would nail the killer. The author has done a great job of creating setting and in developing a varied cast of characters you can both like and hate, laugh with and laugh at. The conclusion is quite tense, the action really picking up in the dying pages with both of our protagonists placed in mortal danger. You kind of feel for Bishop, placed in an impossible position and having to make a really tough choice under pressure, even if I was ultimately frustrated by the one she made. What a plank. Why? Why would you do that? The girl has serious, and I mean serious, trust issues.

I look forward to seeing where the author takes our characters next. It’s not going to be an easy ride for anyone, that’s for sure.

My thanks to publishers Bookouture for providing the advance copy of Now You See Me for review via Netgalley. It is released today and is available from the following retailers:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Kobo

About the Author

KIERNEY SCOTT

Originally from California, Kierney Scott lives in Edinburgh, Scotland with her husband and their daughter.

In her spare time she likes to read and invent new recipes. Her stuffed peppers are particularly popular with her family, as are her grain-free chocolate chip cookies. In an effort to convert her family to the joys of pumpkin, she created the Great Pumpkin Challenge. For the ten weeks before Thanksgiving, they tried a new pumpkin recipe every week. Pumpkin arancini and pumpkin queso were a big hit. She has promised her daughter to never again roast pumpkin and call them chips.

You can follow Kierney on Social Media: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Check out the other blogs taking part in the blitz.

Now You See Me - Blog Tour

 

3 thoughts on “#BlogBlitz: Now You See Me by Kierney Scott @Kierney_S @Bookouture

Comments are closed.