#BlogTour: The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson @CorrieJacko @BonnierZaffre

Today it’s my great pleasure to be joining in the blog tour for The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson. My thanks to Emily Burns at publisher Bonnier Zaffre for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing an extract from the book with you all, just as soon as we’ve seen what the book is all about.

The Perfect VictimThe Official Book Blurb

For fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, Corrie Jackson’s explosive new thriller will leave you questioning how far you would go for friendship. 

Charlie and Emily Swift are the Instagram-perfect couple: gorgeous, successful and in love. But then Charlie is named as the prime suspect in a gruesome murder and Emily’s world falls apart.

Desperate for answers, she turns to Charlie’s troubled best friend, London Herald journalist, Sophie Kent. Sophie knows police have the wrong man – she trusts Charlie with her life.

Then Charlie flees.

Sophie puts her reputation on the line to clear his name. But as she’s drawn deeper into Charlie and Emily’s unravelling marriage, she realises that there is nothing perfect about the Swifts.

As she begins to question Charlie’s innocence, something happens that blows the investigation – and their friendship – apart.

Now Sophie isn’t just fighting for justice, she’s fighting for her life.

CHAPTER 15

 

Emily turns the key in lock.

The smell hits her instantly: vanilla with a musky undertone. Why do I know that smell?

‘Hello?’ Her voice carries down the hallway into nothing.

‘Baby, you home?’

Frowning, Emily hangs her jacket in the cupboard, then wanders into the kitchen and throws the post onto the counter. She switches on the kettle and opens the fridge. She is going to make dinner, a peace offering. She isn’t the greatest cook but she’s started cutting out recipes from the Sunday paper and sticking them on the fridge as inspiration. Tonight is lamb chops, Charlie’s favourite. As the kettle hisses and steams, Emily hears something.

She pours her tea and takes it through to the sitting room. That’s when she spots the TV. An image, black and white, frozen. Charlie dressed in a morning suit, leading his beaming bride out of the church. Only the bride isn’t Emily. It’s Lizzie.

Emily’s knees give way. She collapses onto the sofa, barely noticing the tea burning her skin.

‘Charlie!’ Emily hauls herself up and stumbles through the apartment. ‘Where the fuck are you?’

As she reaches their bedroom, Emily stops abruptly. The vanilla scent fills her nostrils, catches in her throat. She follows the trail all the way to their wardrobe. She opens the door, stares at Charlie’s suits. Then she starts yanking things out: his shoes, his belts, his ties. Breathless, she spots a box, half hidden beneath a pile of shoes. She picks it up with trembling hands. Inside is a pink perfume bottle. MoonFlower. Emily staggers backwards, sinking onto the bed. That’s why the smell is familiar. It’s Lizzie’s perfume. She remembers helping Lizzie hunt for it on the morning of her wedding. Emily stares wildly at the door. That sound she heard before. Was that Charlie leaving? The perfume bottle feels like a grenade in her hand.

Emily stifles a sob. She charges into the kitchen and hurls the bottle in the bin. Adrenaline forces her chest up and down. She grabs her phone, about to dial her dad, then hesitates. She knows what he will say. That Emily chose this path; she chose to marry a man who was still in love with a ghost.

The Perfect Victim was published on 16th November and is available from the following retailers:

Amazon UK | Kobo | Waterstones

About the Author

Anita Robinson PhotographyCorrie Jackson has been a journalist for fifteen years. During that time she has worked at Harper’s Bazaar, the Daily Mail, Grazia and Glamour. Corrie now lives in Greenwich, Connecticut with her husband and two children. Breaking Dead, her debut novel, was the first in the journalist Sophie Kent series and was described by Glamour as ‘Gripping . . . crime with a side order of chic’ and by the Sun as ‘Original, amazingly written and tense’.

You can follow Corrie Jackson on Twitter and her Website

Do make sure to check out some of the other brilliant blogs taking part in the tour

Perfect Victim_Blog Tour Banner_v1 (2)

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour: The Perfect Victim by Corrie Jackson @CorrieJacko @BonnierZaffre

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap; Weekly update w/e 26/11/17 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.