#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163

Today it’s back over to Mandie who has reviewed another Christmas book, this time Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles. We’ll see what Mandie thought just as soon we we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

CWTBG.jpgThe Official Book Blurb

Christmas is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and it’s going to be a year to remember . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true?

A factory floor might not be their first choice of a place to spend Christmas, but pulling together and making do is exactly what the Bomb Girls are best at.

Gladys, back from singing for the troops in Europe, quiet as she takes her place on the cordite line. Her old friends are determined to bring back her spark while they work hard to help their conuntry, as the threat of danger grows ever-closer.

What dark secret lies in Galdys’s heart? Will the grils see out another year in a country at war? And, if everyone does their bit, despite the worry, pain and toil, will the Bomb Girls be able to provide a wodnerful Christmas for all?

Fans of Lesley Pearse, Maggie Hope, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas will love Daisy Styles’ mesmerising novels . . .

Christmas with the Bomb Girls is the third book in the series but can be read as a standalone as despite not having read the first two books I had no trouble following the story.

Set in WW2 you get to see the lives of a group of women that work in a munitions factory. Despite everything that is going on you get a real sense that they are proud of the work they do and how they are helping the war effort. They would also do just about anything for each other.

The story seems to mainly centre around Gladys. She has just returned from performing at the front for the troops but straight away you know that something bad happened to her whilst she was there and she has come home to the one place she felt safe. Clearly struggling with what she experienced but not ready to talk about it she throws herself back into the familiar routine of factory life. When she is forced to stop working at the factory she quickly looks for other ways to help the war effort.

You also get to learn about the lives of her friends, Kit, Violet, Maggie, Myrtle and Nora during this time.

Despite the heartache that some of the group endure they still all come together when one of their own starts planning a Christmas wedding. Not even the wartime rations are going to stop them from celebrating in style.

Throughout the book you really get a sense of what people had to go through during this time, from air raids and hiding in shelters to losing loved ones both at home and overseas, yet despite this they pull together and are determined to make Christmas special.

I love reading books that have historical settings and this one was no exception. Daisy Styles has managed to capture the hardships of the time through the eyes of an endearing group of women. Even though it is set in the hard times of the war there are still moments that will have you smiling due to the sense of humour of the characters, equally though there are moments of sadness when the harsh realities of war push through.

Christmas with the Bomb Girls is a thoroughly enjoyable book and I hope to see what else the group of women go through during the remaining time of the war.

With thanks to publishers Penguin for providing a copy of the book for review. It is available now from the following retailers:

Amazon UK | Kobo | Waterstones

2 thoughts on “#FestiveReads: Christmas With the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles @PenguinUKBooks @mgriffiths163

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 19/11/17 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.