Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 22/10/17

lioness-1560228_640.jpg

I won’t lie. As I write this post I am at the end of a mammoth post prep session in which I have prepared a rather small (not) 15 posts. Yes you read that correctly. 15 posts!!! Not all are original content. There is one re-post and some are quick cut and paste jobs for reviews from Mandie, but I still have to prep all the links, pictures etc, check spelling and basically stay awake. not easy given the fact that I am absolutely shattered.

Manchester and Edinburgh with work this week which allowed me to listen to a cracking audio book, but all this mucking around of y work schedule really plays havoc with my sleep patterns (when I eventually do sleep) and unsettles the dog, meaning I get treated to a middle of the night barking session which is always nice. Not. Really starting to feel my age this week.

After all of the excitement of last week I’ve very little of interest to tell you this week. I am still on a bit of a high from the whole best book blogs thing last week to be fair, at least I’m hoping that explains the light-headedness ;). This week has been mostly about work and reading though, which isn’t all bad as I’ve been needing a little down time to recharge the old batteries.

Book post wise I only got the one delivery this week but it was a very welcome one. Bad Sister by the lovely Sam Carrington courtesy of Avon Books. I loved Saving Sophie so I’m really looking forward to reading this one as I’m on the blog tour in a couple of weeks.

IMG_E5089.JPG

Oh. One bit of bookish news – I made 500 direct followers/subscribers on the blog. A big thanks to everyone who does follow and also to everyone who puts up with my record number of twonkish tweets while following me on Twitter. Your support is very much appreciated.

img_5056.png

Book purchase wise, I was doing so well. And then I prepped Karen Cole’s book love post and ended up back on Amazon buying one of her recommendations … and a few others. I blame book love. It was nothing to do with me…

So, I ended up purchasing Kill Me Twice by Simon Booker, The Binding Song by Elodie Harper, Heroic Justice and Deadly Encounter by Mel Comley, The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan and Christmas at the Falling Down Guest House by Lilly Bartlett. On audible I purchased The Binding Song and Without Trace by Simon Booker.

Netgalley wise I may have picked up a few titles. Just a few. The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin, Class Murder by Leigh Russell, Silent Victim by Caroline Mitchell and The Deaths of December by Susi Holliday.

Reading wise I didn’t quite manage all I wanted to this week do I treat that as a fail. I managed three of my planned four books, but snuck in an audiobook on the side.

Books I have read

NWAD.jpgNow We Are Dead by Stuart MacBride

She can’t prove he did it. But she might die trying…

From the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author of the Logan McRae series, comes a standalone spinoff featuring DS Roberta Steel.

Revenge is a dangerous thing…

Detective Chief Inspector Roberta Steel got caught fitting up Jack Wallace – that’s why they demoted her and quashed his sentence. Now he’s back on the streets and women are being attacked again. Wallace has to be responsible, but if Detective Sergeant Steel goes anywhere near him, his lawyers will get her thrown off the force for good.

The Powers That Be won’t listen to her, not after what happened last time. According to them, she’s got more than enough ongoing cases to keep her busy. Perhaps she could try solving a few instead of harassing an innocent man?

Steel knows Wallace is guilty. And the longer he gets away with it, the more women will suffer. The question is: how much is she willing to sacrifice to stop him?

Crikey. How in God’s name am I supposed to review this? One word. Brilliant. No. Actually. Two words. Bloody brilliant. I love the humour that flows through this book, no less that you would expect from Roberta Steele and her potty mouth. I really don’t know where to begin with a review but I’m going to have to figure it out as I’ve got to review for First Monday Crime. While I’m figuring that out, you can be pre-ordering the book right here.

Murder-Game-KindleMurder Game by Caroline Mitchell

A serial killer is playing a terrifying game of life or death with his victims. After he captures them, a countdown begins. He marks the time by sending clues to the whereabouts of the women he has taken in three disturbing images: alive, tortured, dead. 

In a race against the clock, East London Detective Ruby Preston must play the twisted killer’s terrifying murder game and decipher the clues before more women die… 

But this isn’t the first time the police have seen such a sickening crime. The notorious Lonely Hearts Killer, Mason Gatley, was put behind bars ten years ago for murdering six women in exactly the same chilling way. Desperate for more information, Ruby persuades her boyfriend, Nathan Crosby, to use his criminal connections to set up a dangerous meeting. Because to catch this killer, she needs to think like one… 

But the closer Ruby grows to the dark and charming Mason Gatley, the more worried her team become. Is Mason really helping her catch the killer? Or is he lining Ruby up to be his next victim?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Peter James will be hooked by this dark and utterly disturbing thriller, packed with twists until the final page. 

Oh my life. What a cracking read – quite probably the best one in the series. Sad to see the end of the Ruby Preston series but what a way to bow out, tracking down a ruthless serial killer who is murdering adulterers. It is down to Ruby to convince the killers mentor and muse, Mason Gatley to help her before it is too late. The book is released on 31st October, but you can preorder it right here.

Absolution - P.A. Davies - Book CoverAbsolution by P.A. Davies

When the Militia entered the peaceful village of Nyanyar Ngun, South Sudan in 1992 – amidst the backdrop of a bitter civil war – it wasn’t in peace.

Soldiers of the SFL committed untold atrocities in that small farming village, before finally razing it to the ground. From a line of terrified children, boys were chosen to become recruits of the Militia, whilst girls were taken for selling within a market of odious buyers. Those who weren’t selected were either left to perish or murdered where they stood.

In a field of high maize next to the village, sixteen-year old Jada lay hidden and afraid, witnessing the merciless slaughter of his parents and the capture of his sister Kiden; powerless to stop it, too frightened to try.

But now – tortured by grief, consumed with shame and driven by guilt – Jada must embark on a long & arduous journey to rescue his sister from a sinister world and earn his absolution…or die trying!

A rather intriguing tale, this follows young Sudanese boy, Jada, as he tries to track down his sister, a victim of trafficking as a result of the war in Sudan. Blending two of the most heinous wars in modern history, this book will take you from war-torn Germany, to the Sudan to good old Great Britain in a tale which highlights the real atrocities of war. You can order a copy fo the book here.

TBSThe Binding Song by Elodie Harper

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to leave…

‘Splendidly unsettling’ John Connolly

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared – along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins.

Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels.

Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts…

Oh my life. I picked this up on a whim as I am going to hear the author on a panel at First Monday Crime in a couple of weeks. I am so glad that I did. What a chilling and atmospheric book. And such a compelling and engrossing read. I loved it. Do yourself a favour and go take a look. My review will be posted next week but don’t wait. You can order the book here.

Busy old week on the blog with a mixture of book love and reviews. You can find all the recaps here.

BlogTour: Fox Hunter by Zoe Sharp

London Noir by Ann Girdharry

#BookLove: Joanne Robertson

#BlogTour: The Second Son by Andy Blackman

BlogBlitz: Christmas At Hope Cottage by Lily Graham

BlogBlitz: The Girl From the Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas

CoverReveal: @Lisalregan @bookouture

BookLove: Meggy Roussel

The Perplexing Theft Of The Jewel In The Crown by Vaseem Khan

The week ahead is pretty full on too. I have #booklove from Karen Cole on Tuesday and reviews for Elodie Harper, Vaseem Khan and Lilly Bartlett scattered throughout the week. Blog tour wise I’ll be taking part in tours for Dead Lands by Lloyd Otis and Absolution by P.A. Davies on Wednesday, A Cost Candlelit Christmas by Tilly Tennant on Thursday and The Lost Child by Patricia Gibney on Friday. Do make sure to stop by.

Have a fabulously bookish week all. I have a trip to Southampton to look forward to and a wonderful bookish get together over the weekend too, as well as lots of lovely reading.

See you all next week

Jen

 

15 thoughts on “Rewind, recap: Weekly update w/e 22/10/17

  1. I’m exhausted just reading your post! Absolutely fab round up of books here! I’m struggling to read at mo -so impressed how you can work such long hours & read so much too!! Xx

    Like

  2. Wow!!! “The Binding Song” sounds fabulous! It is not yet available on NetGalley or Edelweiss, and is not available in Kindle format in Canada. (sad, pouty face)
    Will keep trying everywhere until I get a Kindle copy.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.