The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan @VaseemKhanUK @MulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime

Now this is a book I have had sitting on my TBR list for far too long. It first came to my attention at CrimeFest last year when I heard author, Vaseem Khan, speaking on a panel about his somewhat unusual hero, Ganesha, the baby elephant. I was fascinated and promptly bought the books, but for some reason never quite found the time to read them. Taking part in First Monday Crime as a blogger, an event at which Mr Khan will be one of the panelists in November, gave me the perfect reason (as if one were needed) to put the books front and centre of my reading list and so, armed with an audiobook copy of the book, I set about listening to it on one of my many trips up to Scotland over the past month. And what a treat it was too. I’ll tell you how much of one in a short while, just as soon as we’ve taken a look at what the book is all about.

IC1The Official Book Blurb

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce.

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve…

But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai – from its richest mansions to its murky underworld – he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. 

So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.

Continue reading “The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan @VaseemKhanUK @MulhollandUK @1stMondayCrime”