#BlogTour: Hunting Angels Diaries by Conrad Jones Extract @ConradJones @EmmaMitchelFPR

Today I am delighted to be able to share an extract from the Hunting Angels Diaries by Conrad Jones as part of the blog tour. I’ll be bringing that to you in just a moment, but first of all, here is what the books are all about.

The Official Book Blurb

When an author is asked to help the police with the investigation into a double murder by identifying occult symbols, which had been carved into the victims, he is plunged into nightmare and forced to go on the run. Hunted by law and a powerful cult, he has to stay one step ahead to survive.

Extract – Hunting Angels Diaries

“Stupid bitch!” Malcolm kicked out his legs in a blind panic, but he realised that they were fastened to the chair too. “Do you think I’m a fucking idiot?” He thrust all his weight backwards in an attempt to tip the chair, but it hardly moved. “Culling chair my arse, is this thing screwed to the floor?” he shouted at the staring faces around the room. “This has gone too far. You’ve had your fun and scared the shit out of me, now let me go. I’ve had enough.” He was enraged, but the use of the name Baphomet and the term “culling chair” sent bolts of fear through him. He had learnt about both in his search for a missing girl. He had found no definitive proof that either truly existed­­- until now.

His research had shown him that satanic groups or “nexions” were widespread and powerful, and that such groups advocated “culling” – the sacrifice of any who dared to expose them. The discovery of the abused bodies of two young girls in the nineties led Belgian detectives to uncover a satanic sect whose membership included government ministers and relatives of the royal family. At the time, the Benelux news agencies ran a huge campaign to seek out nexions, and the size of their organisation and the depravity of their actions had shocked the world. Malcolm was touched by the media hype and he’d studied the cases in detail. Some of their victims were murdered by new recruits as part of their inauguration into the group. Murdering a victim in front of other members secured their silence for life and proved that they were truly willing to leave the shackles of civilised values behind. Once in the group, only death could release them. At first he thought they were a small group of wasters dabbling with the occult, but as he delved through case after case, their shadowy form gained weight.

Malcolm first encountered them when the mother of a young woman contacted him about her disappearance. Although he had researched hundreds of cults abroad, it was the first time he’d seen evidence of their existence here. She knew that her daughter had joined a cult and she appealed to Malcolm to help find her. That was the first time he heard of the Order of Nine Angels. It appeared that the group had emerged from older cults. That particular investigation uncovered nothing and the girl remained on the missing list. Over the years he followed several lines of enquiry into the group, but their Internet profile gave no clues to their whereabouts. He’d specifically followed the disappearance of the young woman who joined their sinister ranks but then a few months later decided that she wanted out. She made several short phone calls to her mother and one panicked emergency call to the police, then disappeared off the face of the earth. Her family and the police were convinced that she’d been murdered, but they had no proof, no body and no idea who the nexion’s members were.

Wowsers. Seems like Malcolm is in quite a bind there huh? If you’d like to keep reading, the Hunting Angels Box Set is available now from the following retailers.

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

About the Author

Conrad is the author of seventeen novels, eight author guides and two biographies. He has three series;
The Detective Alec Ramsay Series; seven books Gritty Crime Thrillers
The Soft Target Series; Gritty Thrillers six books (Reacher Style)
The Hunting Angels Diaries; three books Horror Thrillers
You can find out more on is website.

I am Conrad Jones, a fifty-year-old author, originally from a sleepy green-belt called Tarbock Green, which is situated on the outskirts of Liverpool. I spent a number of years living in Holyhead, Anglesey, which I class as my home, before starting a career as a trainee manger with McDonalds Restaurants in 1989. I worked in management at McDonalds Restaurants Ltd from 1989-2002, working my way up to Business Consultant (area manager) working in the corporate and franchised departments.
On March 20th, 1993, I was managing the restaurant in Warrington`s Bridge St when two Irish Republican Army bombs exploded directly outside the store, resulting in the death of two young boys and many casualties. Along with hundreds of other people there that day I was deeply affected by the attack, which led to a long-term interest in the motivation and mind set of criminal gangs. I began to read anything crime related that I could get my hands on.

I link this experience with the desire to write books on the subject, which came much later on due to an unusual set of circumstances. Because of that experience my early novels follow the adventures of an elite counter terrorist unit, The Terrorist Task Force, and their enigmatic leader, John Tankersley, or Tank and they are the Soft Target Series, which have been described by a reviewer as ‘Reacher on steroids’; You can see them here.

I had no intentions of writing until 2007, when I set off on an eleven-week tour of the USA. The Day before I boarded the plane, Madeleine McCann disappeared and all through the holiday I followed the American news reports which had little or no information about her. I didn’t realise it at the time, but the terrible kidnap would inspire my book, The Child Taker years later. During that trip, I received news that my house had been burgled and my work van and equipment were stolen. That summer was the year when York and Tewksbury were flooded by a deluge and insurance companies were swamped with claims. They informed me that they couldn’t do anything for weeks and that returning home would be a wasted journey. Rendered unemployed on a beach in Clearwater, Florida, I decided to begin my first book, Soft Target. I have never stopped writing since. I have recently completed my fifteenth novel, ‘Brick’, something that never would have happened but for that burglary and my experiences in Warrington.
The Child Taker was the 6th book in the Soft Target Series but it also became the first book in the Detective Alec Ramsay Series when I signed a three-book deal with London based publishers, Thames River Press. The series is now seven books long with an average of 4.8 stars from over 2000 reviews. The first two books are always free with over 1100 5-star reviews. You can see them here.

As far as my favourite series ever, it has to be James Herbert’s, The Rats trilogy. The first book did for me what school books couldn’t. It fascinated me, triggered my imagination and gave me the hunger to want to read more. I waited years for the second book, The Lair, and Domain, the third book to come out and they were amazing. Domain is one of the best books I have ever read. In later years, Lee Child, especially the early books, has kept me hypnotised on my sunbed on holiday as has Michael Connelly and his Harry Bosch Series.

My thanks to Emma Mitchell for including me in the blog tour. FOr more extracts and author features, make sure to take in some of the other blogs taking part in the tour.

Hunting Angels - Banner

One thought on “#BlogTour: Hunting Angels Diaries by Conrad Jones Extract @ConradJones @EmmaMitchelFPR

Comments are closed.