Rewind, recap: weekly update w/e 23/07/17

 

IMG_4250

Man. Where to even begin this week. Well. I will start by saying my reading achievements were next to none. Not quite none. But near enough. Work has been very demanding, I have been very tired and my heart just was not in it. No reflection on the books, more a reflection on my weary and rapidly ageing bones and brain telling me to take a break. In fact I am writing this post in stages as I know where my head is currently at so it if makes no sense come the end … well nowt new there really but this time there is an excuse at least 🙂 Continue reading “Rewind, recap: weekly update w/e 23/07/17”

#GuestReview: Another You by Jane Cable @JaneCable @EndeavourPress @mgriffiths163

Today I hand over to Mandie who has a review of Another You by Jane Cable.  Thanks to the author who provided a copy of the book for review. Here is what this book is all about.

AYThe Official Book Blurb

Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself…

Marie Johnson is trapped by her job as a chef in a Dorset pub and by her increasingly poisonous marriage to its landlord.

Worn down by his string of affairs she has no self-confidence, no self-respect and the only thing that keeps her going is watching her son, Jude, turn into a talented artist.

But the 60th anniversary of a D-Day exercise triggers chance meetings which prove unlikely catalysts for change.

First there’s Corbin, the American soldier who she runs into as she’s walking on the cliffs. He is charming and has a quaintness about him, calling her an ‘English rose’.

Then there’s George the war veteran, who comes to dine at the pub, and his son Mark. George fascinates Marie with his first-hand accounts of the war, whilst Mark proves helpful in making sense of the pub’s financial situation.

And there’s Paxton. Another American soldier with an uncanny resemblance to Corbin. Young, fit and very attractive, Marie finds him hard to resist. But little does she know Paxton is also battling some inner demons. As the heat of the summer intensifies, so do the issues in Marie’s life.

Why is Corbin so elusive? Why is the pub struggling to make ends meet? Why has Jude suddenly become so withdrawn and unhappy? Can she help Paxton open up and begin to deal with his pain? Or will she be shackled to the pub and her increasingly spiteful husband forever?

But as events unfold, Marie finally realises that she is not trapped, but stuck, and that it is down to her to get her life moving again.

Perfectly blending the complexities of twenty-first century life with the dramatic history of World War Two, Another You is a charming tale that will warm your heart.

Continue reading “#GuestReview: Another You by Jane Cable @JaneCable @EndeavourPress @mgriffiths163”

#BookLove: Jane Cable @JaneCable

Book Love (1)

Today it’s my great pleasure to welcome author Jane Cable to the blog to help me spread a little more book love. Before we take a look at Jane’s choices, here’s a little more about the woman herself.

About Jane

JC.jpgJane Cable is a writer of romantic suspense novels. Her first, The Cheesemaker’s House, was a finalist in The Alan Titchmarsh Show’s People’s Novelist Competition and won Words for the Wounded’s Independent Novel of the Year Award. Her latest book, Another You, is published by Endeavour Press and tells the story of how chance encounters around the 60th anniversary of D-Day help downtrodden Marie to rebuild her self confidence and to find new love.

You can follow Jane on her website, Twitter, Amazon and Facebook

…

AY.jpgAnother You

Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself…

Marie Johnson is trapped by her job as a chef in a Dorset pub and by her increasingly poisonous marriage to its landlord.

Worn down by his string of affairs she has no self-confidence, no self-respect and the only thing that keeps her going is watching her son, Jude, turn into a talented artist.

But the 60th anniversary of a D-Day exercise triggers chance meetings which prove unlikely catalysts for change.

First there’s Corbin, the American soldier who she runs into as she’s walking on the cliffs. He is charming and has a quaintness about him, calling her an ‘English rose’.

Then there’s George the war veteran, who comes to dine at the pub, and his son Mark. George fascinates Marie with his first-hand accounts of the war, whilst Mark proves helpful in making sense of the pub’s financial situation.

And there’s Paxton. Another American soldier with an uncanny resemblance to Corbin. Young, fit and very attractive, Marie finds him hard to resist. But little does she know Paxton is also battling some inner demons.

As the heat of the summer intensifies, so do the issues in Marie’s life. Why is Corbin so elusive? Why is the pub struggling to make ends meet? Why has Jude suddenly become so withdrawn and unhappy? Can she help Paxton open up and begin to deal with his pain? Or will she be shackled to the pub and her increasingly spiteful husband forever?

But as events unfold, Marie finally realises that she is not trapped, but stuck, and that it is down to her to get her life moving again. 

Perfectly blending the complexities of twenty-first century life with the dramatic history of World War Two, Another You is a charming tale that will warm your heart. 

Amazon UK | Amazon US

You can read Mandie’s review of Another You here on the blog tomorrow.

Continue reading “#BookLove: Jane Cable @JaneCable”

#BlogTour Review: Her Deadly Secret by Chris Curran @Christi_Curran @KillerReads

It is my absolute pleasure to be opening up the blog tour today for Chris Curran’s new thriller, Her Deadly Secret. Happy publication day Chris – hope you are celebrating hard.

I loved Chris’s last book, Her Turn to Cry and so I absolutely couldn’t pass up on the opportunity to review this, and my thanks go to Chris for asking me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my thoughts with you in just a moment, but first up here is what this book is all about.

HDSThe Official Book Blurb

A FAMILY BUILT ON LIES…

A dark and twisty psychological thriller, in which a young girl is abducted and her family is confronted with a horror from deep in their past. Perfect for fans of BA Paris and Sue Fortin.

A young girl has been taken. Abducted, never to be seen again.

Joe and Hannah, her traumatized parents, are consumed by grief. But all is not as it seems behind the curtains of their suburban home.

Loretta, the Family Liaison Officer, is sure Hannah is hiding something – a dark and twisted secret from deep in her past.

This terrible memory could be the key to the murder of another girl fifteen years ago. And as links between the two victims emerge, Joe and Hannah learn that in a family built on lies, the truth can destroy everything…

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Her Deadly Secret by Chris Curran @Christi_Curran @KillerReads”

Review: Blind Justice by M.A. Comley @Melcom1

BJThe Official Book Blurb

DI Lorne Simpkins and DS Pete Childs are called to investigate the death of Jenny Bartlett, who’s decomposing body is found in a wooded area. When Lorne informs Jenny’s parents of her death they are understandably shocked but also confused by the news as they were under the impression their daughter was out of the country, working as a volunteer in Africa.

Delving deep into Jenny’s personal life leads Lorne to Jenny’s former boyfriend, Simon Killon, after Lorne discovers they had a secret liaison in a restaurant shortly before her death. But is he guilty of Jenny’s murder?

After learning what traumas Simon himself has encountered lately, Lorne has her doubts that he’s the culprit. However she finds it hard to disprove the evidence pointing in his direction.

Continue reading “Review: Blind Justice by M.A. Comley @Melcom1”