Bloody Scotland – McIlvanney Prize Longlist Announced – Press Release


I am delighted to be able to share with you all the official Press Release from the organizers of #BloodyScotland for the 2017 McIvanney Prize Long List.

Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival 8-10 September 2017


‘In what is shaping up to be a record-breaking year at Bloody Scotland (we sold twice as many tickets on our first day as last year), I’m pleased to see so many of the highlights of the 2017 programme featured on this longlist. It’s also brilliant to see a few debut novels on there slugging it out with the more established names. I certainly don’t envy our judges the task of picking a winner from this excellent crop of crime novels’
Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland, June 2017

‘I went to Bloody Scotland and I was just knocked out….this event was so friendly, so supportive I was honestly overwhelmed’
William McIlvanney – speaking on BBC Scotland, 2012

Last year the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney who established the tradition of Scottish detective fiction. His brother Hugh McIlvanney OBE, came to Stirling to present the prize to Chris Brookmyre who won it for Black Widow. The book went on to be shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and is currently on the shortlist for the Theakston’s Old Peculier Prize to be announced at the Harrogate Festival next month.

Ever a step ahead, Bloody Scotland today announce the longlist for this year’s McIlvanney Prize. The winner will be announced at the opening reception at Stirling Castle on Friday 8 September (6.30-8.30pm) and followed by a torchlight procession – open to the public – led by Ian Rankin on his way down to his event celebrating 30 years of Rebus. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

The longlist which has been chosen by an independent panel of readers and features 6 male and 6 female writers, established authors and debut writers, small Scottish publishers and large London houses, is released today:

Lin AndersonNone But the Dead (Macmillan)
Chris BrookmyreWant You Gone (Little, Brown)
Ann Cleeves – Cold Earth (Macmillan)
Helen FieldsPerfect Remains (Harper Collins)
Val McDermidOut of  Bounds (Little, Brown)
Claire MacLearyCross Purpose (Contraband)
Denise MinaThe Long Drop (Random House)
Owen MullenGames People Play (Bloodhound)
Ian Rankin – Rather Be the Devil (Orion)
Craig RobertsonMurderabilia (Simon and Schuster)
Craig RussellThe Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid (Quercus)
Jay StringerHow to Kill Friends & Implicate People (Thomas & Mercer)

The judges will be chaired by Director of Granite Noir, Lee Randall, comedian and crime fiction fan, Susan Calman and journalist, Craig Sisterson who between them cover three continents. The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner kept under wraps until the ceremony itself.

Previous winners are Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

Some absolutely brilliant books on there and I don’t envy the judges their choices. Can’t wait until September now and Bloody Scotland so I can find out who has won.


One thought on “Bloody Scotland – McIlvanney Prize Longlist Announced – Press Release

Comments are closed.