#BlogTour Review: Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture

It’s my absolute pleasure to be one of today’s blog tour stops for Liar the new twisted psychological thriller from K.L. Slater. Many thanks to Kim Nash over at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in the tour. I loved Blink, so stick with me and I’ll let you in on my thoughts on this new book in just a moment. First off, here is what the book is all about.

LThe Official Book Blurb

How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t so sure…

There’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up. Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.

Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.

Blink was brilliant. Such a twisted and unexpected story where K.L. Slater kept us all on tenterhooks until the end wondering just what was going on. Could she possibly manage to do the same again? Of course she flipping well could. 

Liar is a superb psychological come domestic noir kind of a novel which totally had me gripped and intrigued from the off with a truly shocking and unexpected opening. But then there are so many layers to this book, so many hidden truths, that I was kept guessing from first page to last and I loved it.

There are two main characters that we follow in this book: Judi, whose story dominates the book and who we hear from in the first person and her new Daughter-in-law in waiting, Amber, whose story is told in third person. Using these two different narrative perspectives makes it easy to follow the action, but is also an effective way to manipulate the readers point of view, which K.L. Slater does with now practiced ease throughout. We are also treated to a few chapters told from minor characters perspectives which add a different dimension again to our understanding of what is going on and only serve to make the reader question even more if they can actually tell the truth from the fiction.

Judi is a very interesting character to read and to travel the book with. Traumatised by an incident very early on in life, she is heavily invested in the life of her widowed Son and her two grandchildren, almost to the point of obsession. So when Amber comes onto the scene, is it jealousy or real mother’s instinct that makes Judi feel so put out and ill at ease with her. Everyone Fitbit Judi finds Amber utterly charming, and the confusion and hot flushes Judi is suffering courtesy of the menopause do not help her appear rational in judgment. As reader/voyeur, we do see the truth about who Amber really is and whether or not she is actually the threat Judi perceives her to be, but is there still something more there than meets the eye. Amber is not someone who it is easy to warm to and she feels very much like the cuckoo in Judi’s nest from the very start. She has a hidden purpose, one we are not fully aware of until the end, but it is nothing good and she delights in taunting Judi. K.L. Slater excels in making these uneasy moments flow through the narrative and the angst and animosity between the two women oozes from every page.

If there was one person I wanted to throttle it was most probably Judi’s son Ben. Yes he was hurting after the loss of his wife and seemingly intent on caring for his boys above all else but show him a beautiful smile and some attention and he became oblivious to anything else around him, at least in the eyes of his family. Definitely in need of a wake up call, one which he is bound to get but to a very great cost. I’d also have a few choice words for Judi’s husband but then that’s another story.

I won’t say much more about the plot because, as in all good psychological thrillers, this is a book you need to read for yourself and to say too much more would risk ruining the read for you. What I will say is that this book will have you questioning your own judgement and have your thoughts and suspicions wavering between so many characters. Just when you think you know what is happening, something happens to completely throw you for a loop and you start back at square one trying to piece the puzzle together. The opening is killer, but, man… When you read the ending… well you’ll get it when you read it.

Another top notch thriller which had me hooked and turning the pages well into the wee small hours. Well done Ms Slater. You’ve pulled it out of the bag once again. Absolutely brilliant. Loved it.

My thanks to publishers Bookouture and NetGalley for the advance copy of Liar for review. It is available to purchase now from the following retailers:

Amazon UK | Amazon.com | Kobo

About the Author

kls

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.

You can follow Kim on Twitter or Facebook

Make sure to check out some of the other blogs taking part in the tour this week.

LBTP

 

One thought on “#BlogTour Review: Liar by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @Bookouture

  1. Pingback: Rewind, recap: weekly update w/e 18/06/17 – Jen Med's Book Reviews

Comments are closed.