Rewind, recap – Weekly round up w/e 11/06/17

P1040988.JPG

Ahhh. The North Yorkshire Moors… Well somewhere up a hill in Dalby Forest to be more precise but there you go. It’s still pretty don’t you think?

Busy week this week communing with nature. Or something. Nice to step away from the old office for a while and smell something other than whatever they are concocting down in the staff restaurant as it comes wafting up the stairs. Well I say nice. It smelt reet proper country round here last night and nice was not a word I would typically use to describe it. At least it smelt natural. I think this is a good thing. I should be used to it as I’m hardly a city girl myself but sometimes it still catches you unawares.

P1040698.JPG

Figured after last weeks poor effort you might all be missing the Coos so here is one last Highland fling for you. A woolly black cow. So cute. There are cows where I am now but they are your common or garden Friesian variety (although that would have to be one hell of a garden) so they are cute but a little less interesting for those of us from south of the border.

But I know you aren’t here for the nature or the tourist guide to Perthshire where I tell you all about how I amassed a mere 140,032 steps in one week. Yes. I know. Barely moved. I should be ashamed of myself. No. You are here to find out how appallingly badly I did on the reading front this week. Well. As I was distracted by walking, eating, coos and a six hour drive from Perthshire to the Moors, you’d be forgiven for thinking I couldn’t have done very well. Well… in fact I managed to complete the two books (audio and reading) I had started last week, read two more and am 1/3 of the way through Whisky from Small Glasses by Denzil Meyrick on audio and have started reading Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson too. Go me… And apart from about half an hour of lamenting the cluster that is British politics on Friday morning we haven’t watched TV all week. That and a poo internet connection has certainly helped with the reading.

P1040708

So. With a poo internet connection I can’t possibly have gotten into much of a muddle book wise now can I? Well, as it happens, the connection here is much better and I may well have purchased a few books Saturday night just to go with my audio books so, you know, I can switch between book and audio as I see fit. I did get my pre-ordered copy of One to Watch by Rachel Amphlett, and I preordered a copy of Let Me Lie by Claire Mackintosh which isn’t out until 2018 therefore doesn’t count 😉 In addition I purchased all five Denzil Meyrick novels (and any missing audio books), plus the shorts in the series. Seemed rude not to. So that is Whisky from Small Glasses, The Last Witness, Dark Suits and Sad Songs, The Rat Stone Serenade, Well of the Winds, Empty Nets and Promises, Two One Three, Dalintober Moon and Single End.

I didn’t get any Netgalley because I am a good girl (again with the poo internet so I didn’t even look) and no idea about book post because I have no idea about post in general.

Books I have read

TSKDThe Serial Killer’s Daughter by Lesley Welsh

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him.

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death… So why did he have a picture of her?

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

When I got the opportunity to read this book early I jumped at it. I’ll be sharing my review with you all as part of the blog tour next week but this is a twisted and compelling tale which really drew me in. Sadly the author, Lesley Welsh, passed away earlier this year and so it is an honour to be trusted with being a part of the tour. YOu can preorder the book here.

BurnedBurned by Thomas Enger

A BRUTALISED VICTIM IN THE WILDS
A solitary tent is found to contain the body of a half-buried woman. She’s been stoned to death. There are lash marks across her back. One of her hands has been cut off.

A LONE VOICE
Two years earlier internet reporter Henning Juul lost his son, Jonas, in a domestic fire. As he returns to work, physically and emotionally scarred, Henning struggles to escape this past and to be taken seriously again as a reporter – by his colleagues, his ex-wife and the police.

A MYSTERY IGNITED
Told to cover the story of the woman in the tent, he finds an increasingly dangerous trail and, despite an early arrest, he is convinced that the story is more complex than the police think…

It has taken me a little over a week to complete this book. Absolutely no reflection on the book, more on the method as we went audio with this and waited until we had a decent journey to complete the tale. Technically my second Henning Juul book, this one introduces Henning and his ex-wife Nora and the circumstances which led to our hero’s disfigurement. It is a twisted and perhaps somewhat relevant tale of people’s fear and misunderstanding of the Muslim faith, as well as revenge. This book now holds the title for most random and useless knowledge I have gained from reading a crime novel. Apparently Makka Pakka is a character in In The Night Garden. I have no kids so pretty much no clue what In The Night Garden is either but hey ho. I will be reviewing Burned in the coming weeks (and by that I mean some time in late July or August as unbelievably the blog is full up until then) but you can order a copy here

LLiar by K.L.Slater

How far would you go to protect your family?

Single dad Ben is doing his best to raise his children, with the help of his devoted mother Judi. And then Ben meets Amber. Everyone thinks this is a perfect match for Ben but Judi isn’t so sure…

There’s just something about Amber that doesn’t add up. Ben can’t see why his mother dislikes his new girlfriend. And Amber doesn’t want Judi anywhere near her new family. Amber just wants Ben and the children.

The further Judi delves into Amber’s personal life, the closer she gets to shocking secrets that could change everything. And Judi must make a decision that could lead to the most disastrous consequences.

Liar is a compelling psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl Before and The Sister.

Wowsers. K.L. Slater has done it again. Absolutely drawn right into this book and completely caught out. Oh what a tale. I’ll be sharing my full thoughts on the book next week as part of the blog tour but after Blink you had to ask if it was possible to replicate such a twisted story. The answer? Hell yeah. You can pre-order the book here.

TBThe Betrayed by Casey Kelleher

Colleen Byrne is wife to one of the biggest faces on the streets of Soho, Jimmy Byrne.  He promised her the life of luxury, but behind the diamonds and fur coats is a dangerous world of violence and lies.  With her two children, Nancy and Daniel, Colleen is in too deep, bound to Jimmy forever.

TWENTY YEARS LATER
Nancy has grown into her father’s daughter, strong, calculated – and ruthless, while Colleen blots out the pain of her marriage any way she can. When Jimmy is found brutally murdered, Nancy is hell bent on finding the culprit.  She’s going to make them pay for what they did.

Only the perpetrator is someone close to home. Someone who betrayed them all. To catch a killer, mother and daughter must find the secrets tearing their family apart… 

A totally gripping and gritty thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Kimberly Chambers, Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

I absolutely loved Casey’s last book, The Promise. Shocking and gripping it was a dark tale of two sisters who were placed in great peril. The Betrayed is an equally gripping and sometimes dark tale of poor Colleen Byrne who is sucked into a lie she could never have been prepared for and pays the ultimate price so falling for Jimmy Byrne’s lies. The subject may not be quite as taboo or shocking as the last book but it is no less compelling and I’ll be sharing my review with you on release day, 21st June. Until then, you can order the book here.

That owl is such a cutie, don’t you think?

So I’ve been partaking of a healthy dose of Bookouture titles this week, but when the offerings are so lush, why wouldn’t I? My next book (currently reading) is also a Bookouture but then I think I’m in a quiet period (no-one tell Kim…) so I’ll be mixing and matching with some other fabulous authors and publishers.  Apart from being busy walking, I’ve had a full on week on the blog too.

#BlogTour: Promised Lies by Marguerite Ashton

#CoverReveal – A Wild and Unremarkable Thing by Jen Castleberry

#BookLove: Joanne Nicholson

Cover Reveal: We Have Lost The Coffee by Paul Mathews

#BlogTour Review: The Eyes of the Accused by Mark Tilbury

Review: The Lucky Ones by Mark Edwards

#BlogTour Review: Exquisite by Sarah Stovell

#BlogTour Review: The Summer House by Jenny Hale

#BookLove – Cassandra Parkin

Fluffy ducks. Glad I was on holiday. I’m tired just looking at that list now and I posted them lol. Slightly less busy week ahead but still on some cracking blog tours. It starts on Wednesday with a review of Wolves in the Dark by Gunnar Staalesen. Thursday it’s a guest post by James Hazel as part of The Mayfly blog tour. Friday sees me sharing my thoughts on The Serial Killer’s Daughter and on Sunday I’ll be reviewing Liar. Throw in a guest post by Paul Harrison and #BookLove posts from Linda McDonald and Lainy Swanson and there’s another bumper week here on Jen Med’s Book Reviews. Loving it.

Well as I haven’t yet bumped into any werewolves up here on the moors, American or otherwise (and as I’m actually closer to the film location when I’m home than I am up here anyhow) I think I should be safe to finish a few more books this week. Which is just as well as I have some more cracking blog tours coming up in the next few weeks.

Have a fabulous week of bookish fun all

JL

7 thoughts on “Rewind, recap – Weekly round up w/e 11/06/17

  1. Fictionophile

    SO very jealous of your scenic travels – and your step count. I have a wonky knee, so my walking holidays are a thing of the past. I’m pleased to see that you have purchased Denzil Meyrick’s entire series. He is one of the first authors I plan to read after my review commitments are under control.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.