Rewind, recap: Weekly roundup w/e 15/1

So. Busy week for me then. First full week in work, lots of meetings and property discussions and excel spreadsheets and my head is mush. Thank god for books. The only bit of sanity in a crazy world. I had a pretty lame week as far as reading goes, however I did manage to get a few reviews written up finally and posted so go me. I’m cheating a little in listing my reading as it’s from the past couple of weeks but all good and all important.

Books I have read:

31200537Can you ever truly know someone? And what if you suspect the unthinkable?

London, five months before 7/7. Georgie, a young woman wary of relationships after previous heartbreak, gives in and agrees to sleep with close friend Julian. She’s shocked when Julian reveals he’s loved her for a long time.

But Georgie can’t resist her attraction to Nikolai, a Russian former soldier she meets in a pub. While Julian struggles to deal with her rejection, Georgie realises how deeply war-time incidents in Chechnya have affected Nikolai. She begins to suspect that the Russian is hiding something terrible from her.

Then London is attacked…

Blind Side explores love and friendship, guilt and betrayal, secrets and obsession. An explosive, debate-provoking thriller that confronts urgent issues of our times and contemplates some of our deepest fears.

You can read my review here: Blind Side and purchase the book here: Amazon UK

30046874YOU CAN RUN FROM YOUR PAST. BUT YOU CAN’T RUN FROM MURDER.

The body is found by the river, near a spot popular with runners.

With a serial rapist at work in the area, DI Zigic and DS Ferreira are initially confused when the Hate Crimes Unit is summoned to the scene. Until they discover that the victim, Corinne Sawyer, was born Colin Sawyer.

Police records reveal there have been violent attacks on trans women in the local area. Was Corinne a victim of mistaken identity? Or has the person who has been targeting trans women stepped up their campaign of violence? With tensions running high, and the force coming under national scrutiny, this is a complex case and any mistake made could be fatal…

You can read my review here: Watch Her Disappear and pre-order the book here: Amazon UK

33232027What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

My review will be published closer to publication date but trust me, you want to read this book. It can be pre-ordered here: Amazon UK

32455458For fans of Disclaimer and I Let You Go, Tattletale is the debut psychological thriller you can’t miss.

Once upon a time, there was a little girl who believed in fairytales. Now she is out to get your happy ending.

One day changes Jody’s life forever.
She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.

One day changes Mags’ life forever.
After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiance Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind.

But the pieces don’t quite seem to fit…

You can read my review here: Tattletale and it can be pre-ordered here: Amazon UK

32321233Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes?

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

My review will be published next week and you can pre-order the book here: Amazon UK

The Sixth Window by Rachel Abbot. Due to be released on Kindle on February 21st, this book was superb, but you’ll hear more about if from me at a later date.

As well as the reading, I took part in a few blog tours and also hosted a guest post from author J.M. Richardson which can be found at the links below.

Guest Post: J.M. Richardson

Blog Tour: Unknown by Phil Price

Blog Tour: Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb

My next three reads for the week ahead (time permitting) are

As I have a flight to Dublin to contend with, I’m hoping to make some headway with them, if only to beat the boredom at the Airport…

I also received some lovely book post in the shape of Evil Games by Angela Marsons which is published in paperback by Bonnier Zaffre, and Perfect Remains by Helen Fields which is published by Avon. Both titles will be available on 26th January.

As for the rest of my year… well, I’ve agreed to a small reading challenge of finding and reading books from all 144 counties and boroughs of the UK which I will be completing with my two blogging pals, Rachel from Rachel’s Random Reads and Abbie from Bloomin’ Brilliant Books. We’ve made a little progress as can be seen from Rachel’s post here. You can also see a map of our progress created by the brilliant Susan at The Book Trail here I’ve also now completed a tour of Manchester courtesy of Rachel Abbott. Baby steps but this is a journey of epic proportions. We’re in no rush.