Featured

Random things and book reviews

Welcome to Jen Med’s book reviews. I guess I’m no longer new to this blogging malarky but I still have the pretty useless down pat. Hey. I’m trying (some would argue very…).

Manager by day, and insomniac reader by night, this blog is home to my book reviews and random ramblings. If I can inspire just one person to read a new book or author, then I’ll consider my job done and be a very happy bunny.

You will find details of my review policy here.

Please note I currently have a very full review schedule so may not respond to requests straight away and cannot guarantee a review at this stage.

#BookLove: Pam Lecky @pamlecky

Book Love (1)

Today I’m sharing the blog with author Pam Lecky who is here to spread a little #booklove. Before we find out Pam’s guilty secret, lets find out a little more about Pam.

About Pam

DSC_0053 (2).JPG

Pam Lecky is an Irish historical fiction author. She is a member of the Historical Novel Society and has with a particular love of the late Victorian era/early 20th Century. Her debut novel, The Bowes Inheritance, was published in 2015 and was shortlisted for the Carousel Aware Prize 2016; made ‘Editor’s Choice’ by the Historical Novel Society; long-listed for the Historical Novel Society 2016 Indie Award; and chosen as a Discovered Diamond in February 2017.

Currently working on her second novel, The Carver Affair, a Victorian crime novel set in her native Dublin, she has also recently published a short Kindle read. In Three-Quarter Time is a short love story set in the WW1 era in Dublin. In April she is set to publish another short story, The Lighthouse Keeper, which is a contemporary ghost story.

You can find Pam on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | GoodReads

Bowes Kindle LogoThe Bowes Inheritance

Historical Mystery, Romance and Intrigue with a Dash of Rebellion …

Awarded the B.R.A.G. Medallion and A ‘Discovered Diamond’ Novel. Also shortlisted for The Carousel Aware Prize 2016. Editor’s Choice in the Historical Novel Society Review and has been nominated for the HNS 2016 Indie Award.

Dublin 1882: When determined but impoverished Louisa Campbell inherits a large estate in the north of England, from an uncle she didn’t even know existed, it appears to be the answer to her prayers. Her younger sister, Eleanor, is gravely ill, and believing the country air will benefit her, they take up residence at Bowes Farm.

However, they soon realise all they have inherited is trouble. Their uncle had managed to alienate almost everyone in the area and was suspected of being a Fenian activist. His reputation leaves Louisa and Eleanor battling to gain acceptance in polite society, especially with Nicholas Maxwell, their handsome neighbour and local magistrate. His father was cheated out of the farm during a card game fifteen years before. He is very determined to get it back.

Louisa unearths secrets from their family’s past that threaten their future while the spectre of their mysterious benefactor overshadows everything. When a Fenian bombing campaign comes close to home, Louisa finds herself a chief suspect and must fight to clear her name. She must dig deep to find the courage to solve the mysteries that Bowes Farm holds before their lives are destroyed. And most importantly of all, will she be able to finally trust and love the man who is surely her sworn enemy?

Amazon UK | Amazon US

In Three-Quarter Time CoverIn Three-Quarter Time

From HNS longlisted and Carousel Aware Prize shortlisted author, Pam Lecky. A powerful tale of forbidden love set in the WW1 Era.

Dublin 1914 and war is declared. Each of the Cusack family must face the consequences in their own way. Josie and her young man, Anthony Lanigan, have plans for the future. But her sister Lily is also secretly in love with Anthony and has no idea if her feelings are returned.

Anthony is about to emigrate to America to make his fortune. Will he ever return, and if he does, who will eventually win his heart?

Set against a pivotal time in Irish history, from the Dublin Lockout in 1913 through the First World War to the brink of the birth of the Irish Nation, this story will take you through a family’s experience of war and tragedy, loss and love.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

41J4UoP-JLL._SY346_The Lighthouse Keeper

From the HNS longlisted and Carousel Aware Prize shortlisted author, Pam Lecky, comes a new contemporary ghost story.

It’s Sally and Alex’s first weekend away together and romance is definitely on Sally’s mind. But why is Alex acting so out of character? When strange things begin to happen, Sally wonders if they are truely alone in their coastal getaway …

Amazon UK | Amazon US

Continue reading “#BookLove: Pam Lecky @pamlecky”

Review: Stranger Child by Rachel Abbott @RachelAbbott

SCThe Official Book Blurb

One Dark Secret. One act of revenge.

When Emma Joseph met her husband David, he was a man shattered by grief. His first wife had been killed outright when her car veered off the road. Just as tragically, their six-year-old daughter mysteriously vanished from the scene of the accident.

Now, six years later, Emma believes the painful years are behind them. She and David have built a new life together and have a beautiful baby son, Ollie.
Then a stranger walks into their lives, and their world tilts on its axis. Emma’s life no longer feels secure. Does she know what really happened all those years ago? And why does she feel so frightened for herself and for her baby?

When a desperate Emma reaches out to her old friend DCI Tom Douglas for help, she puts all their lives in jeopardy. Before long, a web of deceit is revealed that shocks both Emma and Tom to the core.

They say you should never trust a stranger. Maybe they’re right.

Continue reading “Review: Stranger Child by Rachel Abbott @RachelAbbott”

#BlogTour Review: Guilty by Laura Elliot. @Elliot_Laura @Bookouture

Today it is my great pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Guilty, the latest novel by Laura Elliot. My thanks to Kim Nash for inviting me to be a part of the tour. I’ll be sharing my review with you in just a moment but first, here is what the book is all about.

GThe Official Book Blurb

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.

On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing.

A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson, suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect.

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare.

An utterly compelling psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and Sarah A. Denzil’s Silent Child

Continue reading “#BlogTour Review: Guilty by Laura Elliot. @Elliot_Laura @Bookouture”

#BookLove: Susanna Beard @SusannaBeard25

Book Love (1)

Today I’m welcoming author Susanna Beard to the blog to help spread a little #BookLove. Before we hear all about Susanna’s secret crush, let’s find out a little more about Susanna and her book, Dare To Remember.

About Susanna

SB.jpg

Originally a linguist, I’ve always loved words and writing. My career to date both demands and celebrates writing.

“I discovered that the slope of writing to order is a slippery one, and that the descent is in fact pleasurable.” Elena Ferrante.

Writing fiction is new and joyous for me. It offers a freedom from constraint which is refreshing and full of wonder.

I like dark, contemplative stories with a twist. I’m fascinated by the psychology of relationships and the impact of insignificant events on people’s lives.

You can follow Susanna on social media: Twitter | Facebook or her website www.susannabeard.com

DTRDare To Remember

Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley.

However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night?

As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there’s another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can’t escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along.

A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah.

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

Continue reading “#BookLove: Susanna Beard @SusannaBeard25”