Featured

Random things and book reviews

Welcome to Jen Med’s book reviews. I guess I’m no longer new to this blogging malarky but I still have the pretty useless down pat. Hey. I’m trying (some would argue very…).

Manager by day, and insomniac reader by night, this blog is home to my book reviews and random ramblings. If I can inspire just one person to read a new book or author, then I’ll consider my job done and be a very happy bunny.

You will find details of my review policy here.

Please note I currently have a very full review schedule so may not respond to requests straight away and cannot guarantee a review at this stage.

#BlogTour: Dead Souls by Angela Marsons (@WriteAngie; @Bookouture)

O. M. G. The day has finally arrived. Today is the day that Dead Souls, the sixth Kim Stone novel masterpiece is set free and I GET TO BE ONE OF THE TWO BLOGGERS TO OPEN THE BLOG TOUR!!! Whoop whoop.

You’d be forgiven for thinking I might be a bit happy about that. But you’d be totally wrong. I’m actually a lot happy. A massive Happy Publication day to Angie and Bookouture. I’m pretty certain you’ll be having a blast and you truly deserve every bit of happiness today. Because this book, ladies and gents, is epic!!!

I’ll share my review with you in a moment, but first up here are those all important bookie bits. Continue reading “#BlogTour: Dead Souls by Angela Marsons (@WriteAngie; @Bookouture)”

#BlogTour: Guest Post – Alice by KL Loveley (@K_L_Loveley; @EmmaMitchellFPR) #Giveaway

Today I am delighted to join the blog tour for Alice by K.L. Loveley. I have a guest post from author K.L. Loveley to share with you on her road to publication in just a moment, but first of all, here is what the book is about.

Alice -by K.L Loveley - front coverThe Official Book Blurb

Alice is near breaking point. Floods have left her beautiful dream home a damaged mess, her step children’s lack of respect is giving her migraines and, worst of all, her husband is giving her no support to lean on. Her life is slowly spiralling out of control.

When Alice’s daughter, Anne Marie, repeatedly falls victim to aggressive vandals, Alice finally can take no more. She decides to take control of the mess that has become her life, and finally frees herself from the chaos that has been bringing her down.

Freedom, however, isn’t as sweet as Alice first thought it might be. She finds herself yearning for something she can’t quite put her finger on. In her quest to find it, Alice finds herself turning to drink…

Continue reading “#BlogTour: Guest Post – Alice by KL Loveley (@K_L_Loveley; @EmmaMitchellFPR) #Giveaway”

#BookLove: Joanne Baird from Portobello Book Blog

Book Love (1)

It’s time to spread a little more #BookLove and today I’m absolutely delighted to welcome the brilliant blogger Joanne Baird from Portobello Book Blog to the page to tell us all about her greatest book love and secret crushes. I’m sure many of you have already seen Joanne’s fab blog, but before we find out her all time book favourites, here’s a little more about the person behind the blog.

About Joanne

JBI’m  Joanne and I just love reading! I enjoy a wide variety of books but would say my favourite genres are contemporary fiction or thrillers and I also enjoy a good love story. I love hearing about what others are reading and look forward to sharing what I am reading. I am a member of two book groups plus Book Connectors on Facebook so have plenty people offering inspiration about what new books to read. And plenty people to share details of what I’ve been reading. I review for Lovereading, New Books magazine and Netgalley, as well as sharing my reviews on Amazon, GoodReads, Twitter and Facebook.

You can follow Joanne on the following links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Continue reading “#BookLove: Joanne Baird from Portobello Book Blog”

#BlogTour – Review: Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell (@Caroline_writes; @Bookouture)

It gives me absolute pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for Sleep Tight, the brand spanking new DS Ruby Preston novel from Caroline Mitchell.

CoverThe Official Book Blurb

Close your eyes … Just pray you don’t wake up. 

A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise their twisted fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of her lover, Nathan Crosby, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.

Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer before Nathan becomes the number one suspect. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove his innocence.

Ruby is in too deep, knowing that the cruel individual is getting ever closer, looking for his next beautiful victim. But can she stop a killer hell-bent on fulfilling their horrific desires – before it’s too late? And how well does she really know the man she loves?

A terrifying, addictive serial killer thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for readers of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott.

Continue reading “#BlogTour – Review: Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell (@Caroline_writes; @Bookouture)”

Rewind, recap – weekly roundup w/e 23/04/17

C-Fk4KsXYAET2FK

Nature shots seem to be my thing right now. Apparently. Spotted on one of my walkies over the weekend. Probably not much of a surprise as I was walking around a Deer Park at the time but there you go.

Now walking is my way of clearing the brain. It is also my last attempt to get fit and push the effort with the old diet. The last bit’s not going so well but there you go. It’s the thought that counts. Continue reading “Rewind, recap – weekly roundup w/e 23/04/17”